In there anything that covers 360 degrees?

monotious

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi, I am new to the idea of getting a dash cam and new to the forums.
I am sure a similar question would've been asked by others but running searches here and going through stuff is a bit daunting when I am first starting out and even Google doesn't help a whole lot with this question.

So, I am looking to get a dash cam in my car. I am interested in something that covers the rear and sides, as well as the front. From my search of what's out there, most dash cams just record the front view, although almost all of them are some sort of swivel mounted to be able to be turned to sides and rear (but I also see installations or products that go right beneath the rearview mirror - I guess people with that kind of installations care only about the front).

First, why is it that people don't generally seem to worry about about the back or sides? I am equally concerned about the rear and sides as well as the front. Accidents can happen from any angle... You could take the front facing cam and take the video or pics of the sides and rear but that would be after the fact and you wouldn't have anything recorded as it happened. So I am curious why most dash cams are just one way - it obviously reflects that the market does not really demand full coverage. Why not though?

Second, given my concern, what would be a good option for a dash cam? I live in Canada and I don't have the full array of selections like Americans do, so I would like to be able to get something that's relatively easy to get in Canada (read Amazon.ca, ebay and costco.ca).
Of course I would like all the features, like g-sensor, looping etc. Lcd screen is probably not critical.

I was looking at e-prance dual cam one, which seemed like something I might go for, except the one I found on Amazon.com doesn't ship to Canada and couldn't find elsewhere. Besides, I just read another thread on this board that recommended against it.