US dashcam legality

What about dashcams in the State of Florida?
I'm not really an expert in US law. Is privacy regulated on a federal basis or by any single State in the US?

...Is privacy regulated on a federal basis or by any single State in the US?

Pretty much state by state. I don't have an answer about Florida.

Edit: To clarify a bit in most states (maybe even all) video recording in public is legal. Where most restrictions come into play is when recording audio. Michigan (where I live) requires consent of all parties (or maybe just notification) to record audio but no restrictions on video recording done in public.

Last edited:
Pretty much state by state. I don't have an answer about Florida.

Edit: To clarify a bit in most states (maybe even all) video recording in public is legal. Where most restrictions come into play is when recording audio. Michigan (where I live) requires consent of all parties (or maybe just notification) to record audio but no restrictions on video recording done in public.

yeah in two party states you need notification of audio recording, that's why we include the warning stickers with our products just for those states so that they're compliant, leave it up to the individual if they actually use them or not

...we include the warning stickers with our products just for those states so that they're compliant...
Do you know of a source for a similar sticker? I've searched and can only find bumper stickers or window stickers that are much larger than I want.

Do you know of a source for a similar sticker? I've searched and can only find bumper stickers or window stickers that are much larger than I want.

we sell them for $200, sounds pricey I know but it comes with a free camera ;)

seriously though check with Jon @Pier28 he might have a spare he could send you, I did send him some previously

I'm out of the spare warning stickers, would love to get some more in my next shipment. :)