Noob here. I want a dash cam...

jokerone

Reaction score
Country
United States
One of my concerns is getting power to the thing without having a cord dangling in front of me our getting all hung up in the passenger's feet.

I believe I've seen a few models you charge up. Don't know if that is practical or not?

I also don't want something I physically have to turn on or off. I would rather have it start when the engine is on.

$100 is my target price.

Any suggestions?

thanks.

Anything, just tuck the wires around the dash and around the headliner for clean install.

In perspective- even phones (at major cost), if in recording mode(way lower resolution) will not last a day...
Got to be wired ;)

It's not that big of a deal. What kind of car are you driving? A few minutes work will make any installation 'neater'.
If you're not driving for periods of more than an hour, an action cam will work, but you'll have to turn it on/off, and they bigger, more recognizable, and maybe a theft magnet.

One of my concerns is getting power to the thing without having a cord dangling in front of me our getting all hung up in the passenger's feet.

I believe I've seen a few models you charge up. Don't know if that is practical or not?

I also don't want something I physically have to turn on or off. I would rather have it start when the engine is on.

$100 is my target price.

Any suggestions?

thanks.
Welcome to the forum jokerone. You might want to look at a Mobius. Discrete, versatile and meets your wish list. Very reliable and well supported. I purchased mine from http://www.buymobius.com, but there are several other recommended vendors as well. Good luck in your search.

cool. thanks.

any model recommendations?

I've watched a few hours of Russian dash cam videos. some look ok, some look great. wish there was a way to tell the make/model of the dash cam.

thanks.

cool. thanks.

any model recommendations?