[Solved] Git1 is not a reliable dash cam

gngan

Reaction score
Country
Hong Kong
Dash Cam
Git1 & Git2
I've been using Git1 as dash cam for 6+ months. For the first 3 months, everything was great and I was really happy with it. Now, it would not always start when I unlock my car (when I unlock the car...it would provide electricity to the 12v). The Git1 will go to a white screen showing it's charging the battery. I have to manually turn on it then it would auto record. This defects the purpose of using it as dash cam. All setting were same which works in previous months. I tried the beta 1.4 firmware and it's the same. Anyone having the same issue?

***********SOLUTION***********

In case anyone comes here with the same issue I was having...here's the solution.

TURN OFF motion detect if you want to use it as Dash Cam via USB/12v.

Last edited:
1) Some car chargers to usb socket have built in function for computer mode, i have a car charger that makes my git beleive its connected to a computer, try to change the car charger and see what happens.
2) Make sure that the car auto start mode is enabled in camera settings
3) Make sure your car charger provides 1. 0 a, dont know if it would help but maybe lower ampere wont start the camera in recording?
Good luck and report back :)

Last edited:
1) Some car chargers to usb socket have built in function for computer mode, i have a car charger that makes my git beleive its connected to a computer, try to change the car charger and see what happens.
2) Make sure that the car auto start mode is enabled in camera settings
3) Make sure your car charger provides 1. 0 a, dont know if it would help but maybe lower ampere wont start the camera in recording?
Good luck and report back :)
Agree and thanks.
Be sure only supply 5V to the Git1 camera instead of 12V.

It looks like the USB cable has been changed. Try a "dummy" cable that only has +/- wires connected (no data wires).

Agree and thanks.