Best micro SD card?

plasmo

Reaction score
Country
United States
My DR650GW-2CH that I have been using has been working well for the past 8 months or so, until recently when I found that it stopped recording.

I took out the SD card (SanDisk Ultra 64GB UHS-I Class 10) and reformatted it, and the camera worked for a few more days again, until it stopped functioning again (orange lights on, but nothing works).

I'm thinking this is a SD card issue (unless anyone else has any other ideas).

I'm also using the older Blackvue App with the older firmware (because of the higher bitrate), but haven't been following these forums for a while so I'm not sure if the new firmware/app is better now.
Is there any reason to update to the latest app/firmware?

Finally, any recommendations on microSD cards? Does the DR650GW-2CH handle the faster Speed Class 3 cards and is it worth it?

THANKS!

I remember reading that many decent DashCam manufacturers advise to stay away from the SanDisk Ultra ... even though it says Class 10.
I seems it is slow to keep up the recording speed.
I have been using all brands SanDisk/Samsung/Lexar/G.Skill ... without any problems so far : mostly on sale types, and mostly from reputable NewEgg ($10-$12) ... I would stay away from Ebay sellers and merchants on Amazon and from Overseas (because of fake ones).
I wouldn't put all of my eggs in one basket by getting 64GB ... 32GB is plenty and more economical... if one 32 goes bad, it is only less than half the price of the large one.
Keep in mind that no one brand is best/better all the time , because all brands can go bad with usage.

Last edited: