Ideas on how to ground the PMP if the only bolts nearby are big?

ikjadoon

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. I'm pretty new to hardwiring inside my car. I'm installing my PMP into my 201o Mitsubishi Outlander. It's powering a DR650S-2CH. I'm using two fuse taps: BATT is going to the hazard lights & ACC is going to the cigarette lighter. I'm using 3A purple fuses on fuse taps for the camera.

My biggest issue now is how to ground the PMP, the 3rd black cable. The ground loop provided by Blackvue is on the smaller side and all my bare metal bolts are bigger. Is there a trick or a tip to do this? I have plenty of exposed bare metal around, but no screws/bolts to attach to. I found only one "accessible" bolt (just left of the pedals), but it's big: I did it pretty dirty and tried to sneak in the ground loop behind the washer. No luck: the PMP won't turn on.

g1KpqjD.jpg

Has anybody encountered this? Any tricks here? I think one possibility may be to cut off the ground loop provided and crimp on a bigger ground loop. Or, is it safe to try to stretch the ground loop "fingers"? It's not an actual loop, but the horseshoe kind.

I will say, my crimping skills are not great and I'm not certain how well my "cold weld" came out; I crimped one so hard the insulator had a little tear. But, I'm learning and I'll likely cut & re-crimp onto a new fuse tap (with less force). FWIW, here's what the rest of the setup looks like. Lots of bolts on plastic, some screws in plastic, and bare metal.

tOG9ctU.jpg

fxb2OPK.jpg

c5OW5w5.jpg

Any advice (or critique or feedback) is more than welcome.

factory grounding point is generally nearby the fuse panel, possibly to the upper left in your last photo but hard to make out as it's not in focus at that section

I used pliers to carefully make the "horseshoe" wider to fit around the grounding bolt that I used.