Mobius A2 lens experiences & observations

Dashmellow

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Umpteen
It's been taking longer than I anticipated thanks in part to the harsh winter weather and some other priorities but I've been testing out the new Mobius A2 lens for the last two months using a camera that ships with the A2 module installed which was graciously provided to me by the developer.

Firstly, the new A2 lens is a superb optic that is extremely well corrected. While it is the narrowest FOV lens offered by Mobius it is still a "wide angle" and as such it provides an image that has only the most minimal level of barrel distortion. What little distortion exists is negligible and can essentially be ignored, assuming you even notice it in the first place. There is virtually no lens flare to speak of, even in the most challenging lighting. There is no noticeable color fringing. There is little evidence of field curvature as the lens is quite sharp edge to edge. The lens has good contrast, resolution and resolving power.

All in all the lens is highly capable and the camera generally performs beautifully even in some challenging environments. It's a late generation Mobius 1 v.3, after all.

A2_snowy_highway.jpg

That said, there have been some highly unexpected and unusual problems regarding white balance corrections and color shifts.

During the early "Phase 1" Mobius firmware development there was a widely known issue with AWB stabilization where the camera would suddenly experience significant color shifts when the camera became overwhelmed by a specific RGB color entering the FOV when the amount of that color would reach a threshold level where it would trigger a shift to its opposite RGB color value on a typical RGB color wheel.

So, a large RED vehicle would trigger a CYAN/BLUE color cast or a large BLUE vehicle like a truck would trigger a YELLOW cast and a YELLOW vehicle might trigger a BLUE shift.