Adorama has the WR1 for $69+FS but is on backorder.

I was speaking in general, not specifically about Adorama, but backordered items seems to be the biggest one.

Unfortunately, we are in the hands of the suppliers on this one. we can't sell what they don't send to us!

But they do......I've been doing this job for coming up 10 years; I know our customer base and their purchasing patterns. Do you by chance follow 'Slick Deals" Or 'Consumer Affairs'? If I had a $ for every time I've read that phrase.........

For example; Canon gives us an excellent deal on 5,000 photocopiers. So good that it gets posted on Slick Deals and members place multiple orders (6, 7, 8 copiers) because they plan to sell them on eBay and turn a nice profit - and why not? In the 20 minutes after the deal is posted our website goes into meltdown and can't update fast enough. And the guy who gets in there just a bit too late doesn't get his order filled because we simply didn't have 5,001 copiers. We had 5,000. So for sure he will "never buy from Adorama again". Until the next deal is posted, and he does.....

I do follow Slick Deals. Why not have a limit per customer of 1 or 2? If the price is that good of a deal they will still sell out and you will have many more happy, and potentially repeat customers.

I do follow Slick Deals.

so you know exactly the scenario I'm talking about! I have a presence on over 650 different forums, shopping sites, Flickr groups etc. And that phrase is used over & over on SD, but really nowhere else!

Why not have a limit per customer of 1 or 2? If the price is that good of a deal they will still sell out and you will have many more happy, and potentially repeat customers.

On some items we do. But it won't help when, even if we limited to 1 for each customer - per the example above - if we have 5,000 units and customer 5,001 doesn't get one!

This is very disturbing.

I posted -