I hate yi 4k+ and yi 4k.

iseeu1001

Reaction score
Country
United States
I thought it would be fixed when I got the yi 4k+ but when the camera gets hot my video stops recording and it said it needs to be cooled down. Which makes no sense because I bought the yi 4k+ for a reason is to use as a mutli cam and I had a yi 4k but I though the heating issue would be fixed. Whats the point in having a 4k+ cam if you can't even use as a dash cam. I like that it is mini+everything and that I can use mounts like a gopro to put it anywhere but I don't like it that it has an over heating problem just like the yi 4k. I feel like I wasted almost $500 buying the 2. Should have just gotten a proper dash cam... Anyone know of a good dash cam under $100 that is good enough and has a clear picture at night also. I drive for a living so having a good clear picture will be a +.

And yes before you tell me I do take out the battery and run the camera via cable in car.

Last edited:
if you're using it as a dashcam then I wouldn't reasonably expect it to work for that, the in car environment is too harsh for it to work for extended periods

That was one of the main purpose I bought it for though :( and now its not refundable because I have had it since 35 days.

EDIT:
Is this any good? I like it that it has a hidden camera inside the mirror itself which is strange but good for backwards shots to.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B06XT6C92C

Last edited:
Many seem to go for action cameras for use as dashcams, i wonder where that come from cuz i cant say i can recall anyone recommending the use of a action camera as dashcam.

My take is that they are mostly attracted by resolution *(4k, 60p..)

Yes I want the 4K 60fps that most dash cams can’t do. You 4K+ says I can do a dash cam with battery out which is a fail due to overheating.

none can, and with good reason