VIOFO A129 non-IR 1080p Modified Firmware MODs Archive

Thanks for sharing. I just learned that they were selling with two different lenses. Which one is currently used by them or they are fixed randomly at the same time?
I've just checked mine that I purchased from VIOFO UK Amazon in December 2018 and I think it is LENS1 (the inner ring is there). Should I be happy or opt for a LENS2?

As a photographer, I would say that coated means better as fewer flares and reflections but still, I rather choose 140˚ than 130˚ for a dashcam.
The 130 FOV Lens is replacing the 140 so you have the 2019 version going forward. The green anti-reflection coating also improves color and in my opinion looks better in both A129 and A119S Dash Cams. It's good to see consumers noticing the Lens versions and their effects on image quality, my efforts to reveal this since 2017 are finally helping others. Lens1 & Lens2 are my personal designation and not official, I created that graphic to reveal the differences which were previously shrouded in mystery.

The 130 FOV Lens is replacing the 140 so you have the 2019 version going forward. The green anti-reflection coating also improves color and in my opinion looks better in both A129 and A119S Dash Cams. It's good to see consumers noticing the Lens versions and their effects on image quality, my efforts to reveal this since 2017 are finally helping others. Lens1 & Lens2 are my personal designation and not official, I created that graphic to reveal the differences which were previously shrouded in mystery.
I purchased it described as 140˚. I think 10˚ would be noticeable. Viofo decided not to inform about the change in hardware and specification?

I had a gripe for them before, when their V1 GPS mount happened to have a design flaw and they started selling EVA foam pads. In my opinion, they should provide them for free to existing owners.
I moded mine using Acetate Cloth Tape heat resistant to 180˚C
gps_v1_mod_2.jpg gps_v1_mod_1.jpg