PhD Research: Need your videos

BroderickT

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey Dashcamtalk,

My name is Broderick. I am a phd student at Northwestern University. I do research on the judgments people make from video footage. You can see a recent published research here: https://www.pnas.org/content/116/4/1201

I am doing a new project that is seeking to understand how people judge the fault of others in dash cam videos.

Do you have any dash cam footage you can share from a car crash where you also have video of the same accident from a different camera (cell phone, redlight, body worn cam, etc.)?

Anything would be helpful and you’d be helping science.

Thanks for anything you can do.

BT

Agreed. But what we need is videos of the same incident that are captured from both the dash cam and other source, so we can test if there is any difference in the judgments made.

very slim odds of finding multiple viewpoint accident footage here

can tell you from experience from a Facebook page that I admin that people rarely make the correct judgement call on what happened in any video, arguments never end

On several of the Russian Car Crash YouTube channels you can occasionally find clips with more than one cam's perspective being shown. Dashcams are very common over there. Contacting the owners of those clips would be troublesome or worse. Rarely I've seen similar in the US and I do not remember where any of that stuff is- only that I saw it- so I can't much help there.

Most (but not all) dashcam users are safe drivers whose goal is to avoid crashes so you're going to have a tough time finding what you seek, but good luck to you anyway!

Phil

Agreed. But what we need is videos of the same incident that are captured from both the dash cam and other source, so we can test if there is any difference in the judgments made.

We might have exactly what you're looking for. I'll send you a DM.