MedicWil

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey all,
I’ve been looking into getting a dashcam for my car and I’m going to hardwire it but I don‘t know whether to get the Viofo A129 Plus Duo or the Pro Duo.
Just in case you need to know, I’m a student nurse so the camera will mainly be used when I’m driving to the shops, or to placement at hospital or patients’ homes, both in the day and at night, and the car will be parked up the majority of the time.
I live in a city in the UK too if that helps - I‘ve noticed some people saying about 4K cameras needing a certain amount of light to work well
Any help people could provide to make my decision would be greatly appreciated :)(y)

Welcome to the forum MedicWil.

It is true the 4K cameras are a bit less light sensitive, but it do not matter much at night where even the best cameras are pretty much "just as bad" It is a simple limitation in the technology available at the moment.
So no matter what camera little details at speed will be missed at night, but one thing that the camera always capture well is your own driving in relation to road markings and lights, and that alone safeguard you against a lot of false claims.
If you intend to use parking guard a person walking up to your car should also be captured well if you have a street light near by ( if there are no rain on your windows to obscure the view )
If you intend to use parking guard a lot / always, well then you also need to drive some to recharge what have been used while parked, if you dont you risk ending up where your battery are never really fully charged and parking guard stop sooner as the hard wire kit hit the low voltage cut off. ( low voltage cut off should not be lower then 12.2 volts, it is set on a little 4 position slide switch on the hard wire kit )
So if you can not use parking guard while parked at home over night that would go a long way.