Vantrue E1 initial review

Skylar132

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A139 PRO 2CH
Note: this is my first time reviewing any dash cam so if there are any issues or misinformation feel free to correct me! And thank you to vantrue for this opportunity.

First Impressions:

I was aware that this was a mini dash cam but was surprised at just how small it was at only 1.54 inches. I do like the mount for the camera. It's a 3M tape mount rather than the usual suction cup that came with older vantrue cameras which is an improvement. Although I have two minor gripes, there is a slight vibration in the recorded video but this is to be expected with any dash cam that isn’t directly attached to the windscreen, also make sure you push the camera the full way into the mount to make a connection. The cable that comes with the camera is a USB-C car charger, although it does have an extra USB port which I like and would like to see from other manufacturers. There is also the bluetooth remote button which I honestly love and would love to see from more manufacturers.

Video Quality:
I do have to say I do really like the video quality coming from the E1, It has the options to record at:
2562x1944p 30fps
1440P 30fps HDR
1440P 30fps
1080p 30fps HDR
1080p 60fps
1080p 30fps

It's comparable to the video off my A119. You can pick out license plates in some scenarios but not others. I was really happy with night video quality with HDR turned on as it has a much better HDR than my A119 which would just sort of flicker (This was because it wasn’t a manufacturer added feature i presume) Although like all dash cams, its next to impossible to read license plates at night. But what is important is you can see what's going on even in areas without street lighting. Although I do think the colours from the E1 are slightly dull compared to my 522GW or A119.