2 dashcams + 1 hardwire kit?

zeitgeb3r

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Mini 0806
I'm a noob to electrical/electronics. I only know how to turn on the light switch.

I'm planning on buying 2 x Mini 0806 dash cam (1 for front, 1 for rear), and have it wired by an auto-electrician.

Do I need 2 hardwire kits like this

or would 1 suffice?
mini_0806_hardwire_kit_01.jpg

Or buy one with two usb outlets.

I have a customer that bought two SGZC12RC (aka X1) 's and will be placing both main DVR units in the front of the car. (long microUSB to the remote camera in the rear)
Would/Should 1 MotoSafe PANOBDP hardwire kit be suitable in this situation?

I see where you're coming from if you use two standard dashcam units that don't have remote lens wires as described above. (easier having two then)

can't say I've seen that, two separate kits would be more practical from an installation perspective

There is one I've been contemplating buying on ebay https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111423739615
I don't have anywhere I could put a second unit in the back of my car, as it has no interior panels. So in my case this seems like a good solution.

There is one I've been contemplating buying on ebay https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111423739615
I don't have anywhere I could put a second unit in the back of my car, as it has no interior panels. So in my case this seems like a good solution.

from an install perspective that doesn't really make much difference, the one you looked at originally has the power supply a few meters from the camera, it's only the USB cable you're running to the camera

If you use a splitter cable like this:

41KP1Es5wuL.jpg

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/B00NIGHB46
Then it will work fine, however you would also need an extension cable to reach the rear and by the time you add up the costs I suspect you might as well buy two adaptors and let the electrician use normal cheap 12v cable to provide the extension.