3 Channel= Dash + 2 external sideviews

wyattusmc90

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm looking for a system that will connect a forward facing dash cam with 2 external side view cameras. The 2 external Sideview cameras will be mounted on the mirrors of my auto transporter (car hauler). I would like to have the prebuffering motion sensor feature to provide added security when the vehicle is not running as well. I'm new to the dash cam scene, but I was a computer tech for 5 years in my previous career so I'm fairly savvy with technology. Of course wifi and app compatability are a plus. Price is not a major concern (within reason). From my research Thinkware may be a valid option. Any input or advice is greatly appreciated

Welcome to DCT @wyattusmc90 :)

AFAIK nobody yet offers a 3-channel cam with waterproof remote cam modules except for commercial systems. Very few consumer-grade cams offer waterproof cams, most of these are 2-channel cams designed for motorcycle use. There are some 2-channel cams with a main windshield-mounted front cam and a single waterproof remote module.

The main issue with the commercial cam systems are price which can go to 4 figures, and resolution value as most of these run VGA or 480p for the secondary cams which few people find acceptable in a world where 4K video can be had. For consumer-grade cams like most here use you could arrange a pair of 2-channel cams for this, thus getting the higher resolution values with one 'front' channel aimed elsewhere through glass or used for a redundant front view.