312GW Memory card & Firmware update

Jasonh85

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I've bought a Samsung Evo 64GB memory card, but i have been told i need to update firmware for the support.

it's a catch 22 situation where the only memoery card i have is this 64GB card, so will i be able to update the firmware, or do i need to find a smaller card to do it?

Just checking it should be version 4.4 rel 6.4 as on the support page?

Thanks
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,447
Reaction score
672
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
      Viofo A119 V2 Viofo A119 V3
Hi J

Good point. You probably need a smaller card to perform the upgrade. Still, a tiny one can be had for next to nothing, especially as it's not for video use it can be very low spec.
 
OP
J

Jasonh85

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Argh well that's a ball ache....

i dont want to buy another SD card for the sake of it.......probably should have bought a 32GB...

is there any way of getting the data file on the card - or how do i know that the card is not accepted? currently when i tried to update it says SD card error
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,447
Reaction score
672
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
      Viofo A119 V2 Viofo A119 V3
He can't because his unit, with the older firmware, won't recognise a card larger than 32Gb because his 64Gb card is probably formatted to ex-fat - that is his issue.
He needs a cheap tiny, couple of Gig card to do the update.

Probably an 8Gb or 16Gb can be bought for a fiver.
 

M8TJT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
719
Location
East Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
2x750 2CH
Are you saying that the 312 will accept a 64GB card regardless of software version as long as it's formatted in FAT32. If it won't, then you are still missing the OP's point.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
51,195
Reaction score
29,239
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
it may need the firmware update to support in camera formatting but the chipset can support a 64gb card provided it is formatted FAT32 first
 

M8TJT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
719
Location
East Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
2x750 2CH
Yes but OP's 312 has not been updated so it won't read his 64GB card so he can't do the update without first getting a smaller card that the 312 can read.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
51,195
Reaction score
29,239
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Yes but OP's 312 has not been updated so it won't read his 64GB card so he can't do the update without first getting a smaller card that the 312 can read.

they would have had to have hobbled the firmware for it not to read a pre formatted card, chipset can support it by default, stranger things have happened so never say never but it would be unusual if that were the case
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,447
Reaction score
672
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
      Viofo A119 V2 Viofo A119 V3
My old 402 would read a 64Gb card provided it was formatted to FAT, which Windows won't do.

I used a partition manager to do it but it is a faff. A small £5 card is the easiest option. Plus you can use it for any future updates without messing with your video spec card.
 
OP
J

Jasonh85

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
right, something weird has happened

I just downloaded the data from the cam to replay3 and managed to view the videos, however the playback stutters occasionally.

i also managed to update the firmware via replay 3? the system info is now showing v4.4 up from 4.0

finally, how can i tell that the memory card is recognising the 64GB card, rather than 32GB? or is it as long as it's recording, then it will know?

Thanks
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
D 312GW 2
C 312GW 2
T 312GW 3
H 312GW 6
P 312GW 0
Top