3rd party sd cards

Jimbo

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Lukas LK-7900 Ace
HI,

I'm new to blackvue having just got the 900X plus 2 ch to replace my aging Lucas camera.
My question is about SD cards and 3rd party ones in particular, I was wondering if you can use these as the blackvue instructions say only use blackvue SD Cards in the camera?
Also any recommendations if you can.

TIA

Jim

Last edited:
Most often a dashcam can work with most relevant memory cards, but blackvue and Thinkware in particular seem to be the odd ones out in this regard.
You should be able to find a few suggestions people have been lucky with in the Blackvue subforums.

When i test cameras ( never those 2 brands ) i find that most memory cards in my test suite will work just fine, but lately i have been a little unlucky in this regard.
First i got a 256GB Adata endurance card that on the face of it should be just fine with R/W speeds at 80 MB/s or more, but so far i had just gotten that to work in 1 dashcam and then my action camera.
At first it was simple it did not work, the brand new card when tested showed read / write speeds well under what they should be, but a full format using SDformatter brought speeds back, and it can take 4K/60 FPS with 100 mbit bitrate in my action camera, but most dashcams that far from hit the card that hard have not worked.

I have since gotten the new white Samsung evo plus, that on paper should also be just fine, but again not much luck in my dashcams.

My latest card is a PNY qrsl8 or something like that, it however seem to be working fine in my Viofo A229 system

In general the trouble maker in memory cards seem to be the controller on the card, even if these things should be standardized and so just work, it is not always the case.

Seem like my memory backed itself into a cornor,,,, again :rolleyes:
I firmly believed that the Sandisk high endurance was carrying a 80MB/s write speed, but it is just 40 MB/s like the MAX endurance.