70Mai - Wifi Access & Read Speeds Are DEAD (write speeds are not effected)

Redmi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've owned my dashcam now for a few years for which is used regularly on a daily basis, as I drive for a living.

A few months ago I began suffering from terrible "access" times with my dashcam. When I tried accessing the dashcam with my phone (Redmi Note 4 - like I always do) it was taking forever to display the live feed, followed by the actual files in any of the folders. The thumbnails would appear one-by-one a few seconds apart. However the true problem would be trying to "download" an actual video. The average transfer speed was 50kbps. Basically, 20 minutes to transfer a video in a time that would usually take 1-2 minutes. If you tried to play the videos in app, the videos would be stuck in a "buffer." Displaying only a few seconds of footage ever 30 seconds.

So I thought, the SD card is probably dying and went ahead and purchased the SanDisk HIGH ENDURANCE SD Card, designed specifically for read/write speeds of dashcams. However this proved to not be the problem as the exact same thing was happening with the new card.

In the name of science, I took the old SD Card and placed it in my laptop, and what do you know? It reads/copy's all the videos flawlessly! Only taking a few seconds to copy each video. I inserted the new card just to compare, and once again, the copy speeds where just as fast.

So this ruled out the SD Cards being the problem.

I then thought maybe the actual app on my phone itself needs updating. I uninstalled the app, and reinstalled the latest one in the app store. However, this solved nothing. The problem still remained.

I then thought, what if I "downgrade" to the original v1.0 version of the app, as I know for sure, when the dashcam was new, it worked just fine. I found the old APK's and gave it a try. But once again, to no avail. The exsact same problem remains.