A better AE metering for the A119 V3 and other dashcams.

What horizon level (sky to ground ratio) do you use with your A119 V3?

  • I don't care and have no idea about it.

    Votes: 2 10.0%
  • 10/90

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 20/80

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 30/70

    Votes: 2 10.0%
  • 40/60

    Votes: 7 35.0%
  • 50/50

    Votes: 7 35.0%
  • 60/40

    Votes: 2 10.0%
  • 70/30

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 80/20

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 90/10

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    20

nutsey

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
621
Reaction score
572
Location
Turkey
Country
Russian Federation
Please vote for the horizon level you've set for your cam. It will help to get a more reasonable AE window suitabale for the most shooting conditions.
 

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
6,158
Reaction score
5,170
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
More than my wife thinks I need.
40/60 for dark to mid-tone vehicles works for me. When I was driving white vehicles then 50/50 or maybe even 60/40 gave me better overall results.
 
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
621
Reaction score
572
Location
Turkey
Country
Russian Federation
40/60 for dark to mid-tone vehicles works for me. When I was driving white vehicles then 50/50 or maybe even 60/40 gave me better overall results.
This means that the lower part of the AE table where the hood probalby is should be ignored (=zeroed).
 

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
6,158
Reaction score
5,170
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
More than my wife thinks I need.
This means that the lower part of the AE table where the hood probalby is should be ignored (=zeroed).
I don't know about VIOFO but most (if not all) the SG cameras have that ability, although I don't know to what degree. I just find it easier to play with the alignment versus adjusting the in camera metering settings.
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
14,231
Reaction score
7,250
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1+G3ꞈꞈꞈꞈꞈ Viofo A139ꞈꞈꞈꞈꞈ Blueskysea B4K+B2K
This means that the lower part of the AE table where the hood probalby is should be ignored (=zeroed).
Depends on the length of the hood!
Some are invisible, others take up 50% of the image.
 

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
619
Reaction score
573
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Viofo 119V3
Please vote for the horizon level you've set for your cam. It will help to get a more reasonable AE window suitabale for the most shooting conditions.
You can make a picture of the% ratio so that the user can quickly understand how his camera is configured.
 
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
621
Reaction score
572
Location
Turkey
Country
Russian Federation
I don't know about VIOFO but most (if not all) the SG cameras have that ability, although I don't know to what degree. I just find it easier to play with the alignment versus adjusting the in camera metering settings.
The A119V3 default metering table:
a119v3-ae-window.jpg
Note those 6'es in the 2nd row from below.
 

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
619
Reaction score
573
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Viofo 119V3
I don't know about VIOFO but most (if not all) the SG cameras have that ability, although I don't know to what degree. I just find it easier to play with the alignment versus adjusting the in camera metering settings.
As a rule, expo tables are used standardly on all platforms, I think SG did not edit them.
 

Dashmellow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
15,801
Reaction score
16,806
Location
Uncanny Valley (●_●)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Umpteen
Last edited:

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,315
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Dashmellow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
15,801
Reaction score
16,806
Location
Uncanny Valley (●_●)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Umpteen
we don't use default tables, that V3 table posted above is not a default table either

I thought that might be the case with most cameras, just as any manufacturer needs to tweak color balance, sharpness and other parameters. As you know, the AE tables on the SG9665GC needed adjustment to resolve the issues some of us encountered with the GC. Not sure how @gse reached his conclusion about this or if it was simply an assumption.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,315
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
A lot of cameras likely do use the default tables in the SDK, quite a lot of cameras have default values for most of the settings
 

Dashmellow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
15,801
Reaction score
16,806
Location
Uncanny Valley (●_●)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Umpteen
A lot of cameras likely do use the default tables in the SDK, quite a lot of cameras have default values for most of the settings

Would those happen to be the more generic ones vs the name brands offering higher quality imagery?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,315
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
The generic stuff is almost always with everything at default values, happens in some other 'brands' as well but most common in the domestic market names that seem to find their way onto Amazon, eBay etc as export product
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
2,013
Reaction score
1,084
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
      Viofo A119 V2 Viofo A119 V3
I've only been out once since fitting the V3 and I think I had too much sky showing. The result was darker than expected footage with my dash top almost black, something no other cams have done.

I've angled it down for my next test run.
 

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
619
Reaction score
573
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Viofo 119V3
Not sure how @gse reached his conclusion about this or if it was simply an assumption.
This was just an assumption since:

A lot of cameras likely do use the default tables in the SDK, quite a lot of cameras have default values for most of the settings

Work metering on the example of SG:
And this is how the picture changes with the lens lifted up and tilted strongly
You can do the same test on Viofo


 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
2,013
Reaction score
1,084
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
      Viofo A119 V2 Viofo A119 V3
This is me:

V2:

dET9yxy.jpg


V3:

VaYn1n7.jpg



Too much sky seems to have reduced brightness. Lens clicked down one notch for my next trip.
 
Last edited:
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
621
Reaction score
572
Location
Turkey
Country
Russian Federation
Check the MOD1.3 custom firmware (based on v1.02).

Modified AE table:
a119v3-ae-window_MOD13.jpg

There are several more improvements in this fw. Follow the link above to get more information about it.
 
Last edited:
Top