A119 Pre-production beta test, bugs, fixes, FW and suggestions

Discussion in 'A119' started by CDNinHH, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Link to latest FW ( 0813 beta)
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/A119/firmware/A119_FW_0813.zip

    No Change log posted yet



    Previous version ( 0805 beta)

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/A119/A119_FW_0805_Beta.zip

    Change log:
    1. Added: The DOT . as option in customize text/car license number list
    2. Improved: Removed the format warning while the files in SD card changed or not set the date/time
    3. Improved: Removed setting prompt for language and date/time for first-time use.
    4. Improved: Default date time changed to 2016/08/01
    5. Improved: Update the menu string text.
    6. Changed: Default time-zone is GMT +0
    7. Fixed: Screen turned on while motion detected and start recording in screen save mode
    8. Fixed: Date/Time stamp display issue in 0724 beta version
    9. Fixed: MPH speed error in 0724 beta version


    Link to previous FW (20160724)

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/A119/A119_20160724_Beta.zip

    Change log:
    1. Added: Speed Unit Option: MPH and KPH;
    2. Added: GPS info Stamp: Speed, Coordinate, Both, Off
    3. Added: Display Customize Text on video;(Please check the attachment, the "Toyota RAV4" is Customize text)
    4: Changed: LDWS/FCWS only works in 1080P 30fps mode due to hardware limitation
    5. Changed: Timelapse video duration is 2mins
    6. Improved: No card format warning after read files on computer
    7. Improved: Reduce night time video noise and optimize metering



    Link to previous version (20160607)

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/A119/A119_20160607.7z

    Change log:
    1. Beep Warning while promot for card format
    2. Show GPS data on video
    3. Show VIOFO A119 stamp on video
    4. Improved LCD brightness


    Link to previous version ( 160426.V1)
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/FWA119_0426.zip

    Change log:
    1. Show ! icon and beeps 3 times while lock the file
    2. Show white backlight while charger connected
    3. Short press the power button to wake up the screen while in screensave mode
    4. Add WDR option
    5. Fixed 1080P 60fps recording issue via remove the calibration temporarily
    6. Set default resolution to 1440P 30FPS
    7. Add format warning
    8. Updated the IQ

    Previous version: (160418.V1):
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/FWBA119.zip

    Change log:
    1. Disable the beep in motion detection
    2. Improved the motion detection sensitivity
    3. Updated the IQ, reduce the blue color in video
    4. Support hot pixel fixing under engineer mode(engmode)
    5. Improved bitrate for 1080P, 1440P, 1296P mode;


    Original FW:

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22493212/FWBA119_0305.zip
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016
    walexw, Mtz, reverend and 2 others like this.
  2. viofo

    viofo Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    643
    Location:
    Shenzhen
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    A119/A119S, A118/A118C, G1W-C/G1W-CB/G1WH
    Thanks, you are very fast.
    That's what we are going to do.
    1. Add a little bright for daytime video
    2. Reduce blue color in low light condition
    3. Show big ! icon while lock the file instead of long beep
    4. Set 1440P as default
    5. Solve the 60fps freeze problem
    6. Add a format warning options after 15, 30 days recording
     
    Chris Hunt and dash riposki like this.
  3. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Thanks Viofo,

    just to confirm on the issue of hot pixels, should I do the calibration that is described for the GIT2? Will that work on the A119?
     
  4. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Excellent idea!!
     
    dash riposki likes this.
  5. viofo

    viofo Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    643
    Location:
    Shenzhen
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    A119/A119S, A118/A118C, G1W-C/G1W-CB/G1WH
    Yes, it is similar, format SPI first, then do DP bright pixel fixing, and then DP dark bright pixel fixing. If show DP pass means success.
    The engineer confirmed it works, but I haven't fixed on my sample, so if you have time, you can help to check.
     
    Chris Hunt likes this.
  6. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Ok, will try it and get back to you on this thread.
     
  7. gretl4

    gretl4 Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that native 1440 or interpolated?


    I see that the spec sheet says the OV4689 has HDR, is it enabled on the A119?
     
  8. reverend

    reverend Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,284
    Likes Received:
    3,624
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dash Cam:
    Too many
    It's native 2560x1440 on the A119, not interpolated.
     
  9. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    I must be doing something wrong as I can not get the camera into ENGMODE. First of course is the fact that I'm a Mac guy and have not used a PC in years, so navigating windows 10 on my daughters computer is the first problem. However, I think I was able to get the text file ENGMODE onto the sd card, but when I boot the camera it goes to the normal video screen.

    This re-calibration may be beyond my capability.
     
  10. jokiin

    jokiin Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    31,881
    Likes Received:
    15,280
    Location:
    Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    It's not a text file, has to have no filename extension
     
  11. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Thanks, tried that...still no joy.
     
  12. jokiin

    jokiin Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    31,881
    Likes Received:
    15,280
    Location:
    Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Just that file, nothing else on the card?
     
  13. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Yes, formatted the card, added text engmode with no extension, unplugged from PC, plugged into mains. Boots to normal video screen. When going back to check card it now has DCIM and engmode on it.
     
  14. old4570

    old4570 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    334
    Country:
    Australia
    Dash Cam:
    A119 , A118c, Ausdom A261, Mini 0826 , G1Wc out the back
  15. jokiin

    jokiin Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    31,881
    Likes Received:
    15,280
    Location:
    Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Are you on the latest firmware version?
     
  16. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Yes
     
  17. jokiin

    jokiin Well-Known Member Manufacturer

    Messages:
    31,881
    Likes Received:
    15,280
    Location:
    Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    China
    Dash Cam:
    Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Show known file extensions enabled on the PC?
     
  18. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Good question....as i say I'm a Mac guy and have been since Windows XP.....so I'm having enough trouble just finding the removable drive....Mac's are so easy....
     
  19. Gibson99

    Gibson99 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Dash Cam:
    Eh, one or two... ;)
    most reliable way i know is to actually do it from a dos prompt. then you don't have to dig for settings in windows.

    in windows 10, click start, type CMD, then hit enter or click the Command Prompt icon.

    format the sd card with this command:
    FORMAT X: /Q
    where X is the drive letter of the SD card. that will do a quick format.

    now change to the drive that is the SD card by simply typing X: (or whatever letter it is) and hit enter. the prompt should now be X:\>

    create the engmode file with this command:
    echo. > ENGMODE

    to verify that it's there, type DIR and make sure it's the only thing listed besides the two "dot" entries at the top.

    now you can close the dos window or type exit.

    most important part is to safely remove the sd card before you physically remove it from the computer. down in the lower right next to the clock, there's a picture of a USB thumb drive - click it once and it will list the removable devices - click the one for the SD card and it'll tell you when it's safe to remove it.

    now put the sd card in your camera and follow the rest of the calibration instructions.

    note: i haven't tried this myself, but i write scripts/batch files for windows for a living. this will create the file on the card for you, though it's not technically a completely empty file - it has a linefeed/carriage return inside, which is why it's 3 bytes instead of 0. hopefully that won't be an issue and the camera will do what it's supposed to do.
     
    viofo, CDNinHH and jokiin like this.
  20. CDNinHH

    CDNinHH Active Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    173
    Country:
    Thailand
    Dash Cam:
    A118C MG600G (JooVuuX returned)A119 Shadow 1S
    Thanks Gibson, I will give that a try when I get some time.
     
Loading...

Share This Page