A119 Pro firmware update

solomoj13

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Hi All,
Just picked up the A119 Pro and after installing a 128 Gig Class 10 card the camera takes a picture and freezes with a red x in the middle of the screen. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,865
Reaction score
1,408
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Hi All,
Just picked up the A119 Pro and after installing a 128 Gig Class 10 card the camera takes a picture and freezes with a red x in the middle of the screen. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
What card are you using?

Do you have another card to try?
 

JohnnyMnemonic

Active Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2018
Messages
173
Reaction score
119
Location
NorthEast USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Duo / Viofo A119 Pro
Someone on Amazon posted a 1 star review and made mention of the red x as the reason they returned the cam. I’ve had mine since release and never experienced this so I do wonder the cause. Memory card does seem like a good start at troubleshooting it.
 
OP
S

solomoj13

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I'm using a Lexar 128 Gb class 10. It simply takes a picture and freezes with the red x. So, not sure if it's a defective unit. I'm going to start with the firmware update with a smaller capacity card and hope it works.
 

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
3,208
Reaction score
2,904
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A129 Duo & Pro, GitUp F1 & F1C, Mobius 1 & Maxi
I'm using a Lexar 128 Gb class 10. It simply takes a picture and freezes with the red x. So, not sure if it's a defective unit. I'm going to start with the firmware update with a smaller capacity card and hope it works.
I would suggest trying the firmware update and use the same card. If you change two things at once and your problem is solved, you don't know which one fixed the problem.
 
OP
S

solomoj13

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Thanks for the suggestion Mate.
 

Paul Iddon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
784
Reaction score
481
Location
Preston
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase 522GW, Nextbase 612GW, Viofo 119 Pro, A129 Duo
Format the card in camera menu too.
 
OP
S

solomoj13

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I have already formatted the card in the computer.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,865
Reaction score
1,408
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I'm using a Lexar 128 Gb class 10. It simply takes a picture and freezes with the red x. So, not sure if it's a defective unit. I'm going to start with the firmware update with a smaller capacity card and hope it works.
Lexar cards have been an issue as of late too. Many users have experienced issues with the later model Lexar cards. For testing your issue I would definitely try a small GB card.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,865
Reaction score
1,408
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I have already formatted the card in the computer.
You want to make sure you format in the cameras, even after formatting on the computer. If you format on the computer first, be sure to use Viofo's GUI Format tool (found HERE) or SD Memory Card Formatter (HERE). I would not use the Windows default format program.
 
OP
S

solomoj13

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
You want to make sure you format in the cameras, even after formatting on the computer. If you format on the computer first, be sure to use Viofo's GUI Format tool (found HERE) or SD Memory Card Formatter (HERE). I would not use the Windows default format program.
 

Similar threads


Top