A129 Hardwire

LMJ

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Duo (not installed yet)
Here's the diagram to my incabin fuse box. This is for a Lexus RX. Can someone help me to know which fuses to tap? I think the cig lighter fuse #31 is one of them. Will be using the official Viofo 3 wire kit for the A129.20181106_084107_resized_1 - Copy.jpg

I think you need to find 2 fuse connectiions, one that has power all the time(even with the ignition off), one with power (ACC) only when the car is running or with the accessories on. You need to do some testing to see if fuse 31 CIG(Cigarette ?) and fuse 32 PWR OUTLET No.1. To if meet those conditions.

Buy a cheap multimeter and test the fuses. I am a complete novice and managed to work it out. Also ensure Cam is updated with beta firmware.

I did a quick Google search for Always On with the limited info you provided (no year, make, model) and the general consensus is that the IG2 is always on. This is most likely listed as #20 on your provided picture. My guess would be that #31 (Cigarette Lighter) is probably what you would use for the accessory wire. Plug a phone charger into the cigarette lighter with the car off and if it doesn't receive power you should be able to use that as your accessory tap.

Good luck,

-Sam

Thanks, IG is ignition?
Also, what kind of fuse to use for the cam? 2 or 3 or 5 amp? I understand lower is better but how low? How many amps does the A129 require?

If youre planning on using parking mode, I'd probably go with #31 CIG (I assume thats cigarette lighter) and #32 power outlet. Just need to find out if they are constant power or acc.

Reactions: LMJ