Add dashcam to Rav4

dmaj1112

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
#1
we have a mirror mount dash cam with WiFi and also AV out by way of a video RCA plug. Is there a way to connect into the 2017 RAV4 Limited with backup camera and navigation ?
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
18,392
Likes
9,562
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
Lukas LK-7500G / Innovv C3 / mobius / G1W / SG9665GC & more
#2
Not really.

What i mean are normally a reversing camera come alive when you engage reverse, this the headunit sense and then switch to the AV channel of the camera.
The AV out of the dashcam are always on so you would have to switch away from the AV channel if you put it on same channel as reversing camera with a splitter of some sort.
If there are more AV in on the Toyota headunit then it might work.
But why look at a little low resolution screen when you can look out the window and get the lords full blown HDR 8K package ?
 
OP
OP
D

dmaj1112

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
#3
i am simply looking for a way to set this up in case i do not have my phone with me when reviewing the recordings.
thank you for your response
 

DashcamDPR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
1,063
Likes
525
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A119 Pro, Mio Mivue 508 for the work van
#4
this kind of question is better asked on a Car forum, rather than here
 

DashcamDPR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
1,063
Likes
525
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A119 Pro, Mio Mivue 508 for the work van
#6
Car Forum sent me here :)
That's me out of ideas then :D

I figured the car forums would have more knowledge about what can be done with the car's media system
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
18,392
Likes
9,562
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
Lukas LK-7500G / Innovv C3 / mobius / G1W / SG9665GC & more
#7
Those bastards :p
If your Headunit have more AV inputs i figure it will be no problem, splicing into the already there reversing camera will probably throw things off.
You could also just get a cheap little LCD screen off fleabay and use that, a 7" LCD you almost get thrown at you some places.

I do think my old win CE Chinese 2 DIN headunt have more than 1 AV input, but maybe your Yota headunit are build to specs with no extras.
 

Similar threads

Top