Aloha from Hawaii!

Mokume

Reaction score
Country
United States
Newbie here and certainly hope I can get some installation tips.

Can anyone suggest a mounting method for the rear facing camera on my 2020 Ford Ranger SuperCab?

I am leaning towards a BlackVue DR900S 2 channel system.

The rear window has a sliding center section which slides to the right of the truck and also has defroster grids.
About the only viable glass mounting method would be on the lower left corner of the rear window adjacent to the sliding section, I've only 2 inches in height for a stick on bracket there, of course attaching such a bracket over a defroster grid is out of the question. I could also attach a stick on bracket to the top section of the glass, but I am limited to just an inch vertical clearance on the glass.

An alternative is finding a bracket which attaches to the left head restraint inner tubular post, however it has a weird bend in it.

Insights? Suggestions?

20200321_190247.jpg20200321_190309.jpg20200321_190412.jpg20200321_190247.jpg20200321_190309.jpg20200321_190412.jpg20200321_190247.jpg20200321_190309.jpg20200321_190412.jpg

You might be able to use a mount with a self stick adhesive onto the rear window frame.
The metal part on the bottom looks like putting a mount there might be possible.

Yeah off the bottom lower part that are flat, more demanding but a little better would be up high, but then to mount off the round bar, you will have to fabricate some form of adapter or maybe drill & screw the camera mount to the round bar.
whatever you have to space it out some as that sliding window have that fat black edge, on the good side the heater lines seem spaced out good, still a good idea to have lens as close to glass as possible.