Always on Cigarette Lighter

rogcj

Reaction score
Country
Netherlands
Dash Cam
Nextbase 322GW
I am new to Dashcams. :eek:

I have ordered a LS330W but on checking my car I found the lighter is always on, so I will not have autostart when I turn on the ignition. I am assuming the dashcam will start recording as soon as it is plugged in.

According to a manual I downloaded, the LS330W has an on/off switch. I do not want to continually unplug and plug in the dashcam when I get out or into the car and I wondered whether using this switch is the correct method of turning the dashcam off when the car is parked and on before I drive away.

Just a heads-up will be fine. :confused:

If you place the camera behind the rearview mirror it might not be an easy thing to turn it on and off. My car has an 'always on' socket and I didn't want to mess around with any hardwiring jobs. I have 2 cameras and a gps unit to plug in so this is what I settled for upload_2014-7-22_17-20-40.jpeg

It was an excellent solution for me because because I was able to fasten it to the underside of the pull-out ashtray and the switches are very convenient.

Flicking the switches when you start the car just becomes routine and you don't even think about it. Maybe you might want to go this route.

If you place the camera behind the rearview mirror it might not be an easy thing to turn it on and off. My car has an 'always on' socket and I didn't want to mess around with any hardwiring jobs. I have 2 cameras and a gps unit to plug in so this is what I settled for View attachment 6354

It was an excellent solution for me because because I was able to fasten it to the underside of the pull-out ashtray and the switches are very convenient.

Flicking the switches when you start the car just becomes routine and you don't even think about it. Maybe you might want to go this route.
Thank you, parklawn.