Am i searching for something that does not exist.

MannyLNJ

Reaction score
Country
United States
In NJ it is not legal to mount a camera on the windshield.

I have a Falcon 360 dash cam now. It only meets the requirement to not mount on my windshield.

I am looking for a camera that will record the inside and outside of my car at same time. I need the full interior.

Power has to be over USB because my OBD port has a dongle in it.

Is there any camera that will mount to the rear view mirror and can record the inside and outside of my car.

I too happen to live in a state where it is illegal to mount virtually anything on your windshield except for a small 4 inch square on the lower corner. There is a stiff fine for doing so. Nevertheless, I've been running multiple dash cameras on my windscreen for 8 years now and have never once had any issues with the police and have even provided dash cam footage to state police officers on multiple occasions and they've never questioned where I mount the cameras. In one instance I even showed a trooper one of my cameras and he basically thought it was cool and was impressed with the quality of the footage compared with the dash camera in his cruiser. These days, I see countless people with radar detectors, GPS units, cell phone holders and toll transponders mounted on their windshield and for a period several years ago when I was worried about the legal restrictions I would ask people I encountered in the super market parking lot with devices on their windshield if they've ever had any problems with the authorities. Not a single person I've ever spoken to has reported ever being asked about this or been cited by the police, even those who stick their GPS units right in the middle of the glass. Most people didn't even know there was such a law.