Anyone have issues with the motion sensor? [RESOLVED]

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
I thought mine worked, even tried it a few times. But now I was setting it up as a temporary security camera just to see how it would perform watching outside my front door (I would only want clips recorded when people walk near), and it didn't work once. I double checked and tried updating the firmware making sure the motion sensor was activated and tried again, no motion no matter how obvious sets it off....

edit:

determined my problem was I was trying to use it in parking mode, i thought both the g sensor and motion sensor worked in parking mode, so I got it working by making sure I was in normal recording to get the motion sensor to work.
 
Last edited:

RockThinking

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
885
Reaction score
386
Country
China
Dash Cam
INNOVV C1, C2, C3
Do you check GUI setting?
Like enable Motion detection and set the G-sensor sensitivity to be high level?


Innovv C1 GUI-v 003.JPG
 
OP
USDashCamera

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
yes i did try resetting the GUI utility, multiple times.
 
OP
USDashCamera

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
by the way i just realized there is a typo in the gui utility, "Vidoe Clip Length"
 

RockThinking

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
885
Reaction score
386
Country
China
Dash Cam
INNOVV C1, C2, C3
yes i did try resetting the GUI utility, multiple times.
How far you test the motion detection from the lens? start from 1m or you can refer the techmoan's review.
 
OP
USDashCamera

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
i tried testing it just like techmoan and also from a further distance. still not working after many attempts.
 
OP
USDashCamera

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
Problem is resolved, I was trying to use it in parking mode, didn't realize you had to use it in normal recording. This actually explains why some of my normal recording seemed strange when I had the motion sensor enabled.
 

RockThinking

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
885
Reaction score
386
Country
China
Dash Cam
INNOVV C1, C2, C3
The correct process is
  1. Enable motion detection, Disable G-sensor on GUI.
  2. Save GUI to camera and Press shutter button once.
  3. Let camera record one minute, the camera will be in motion detection mode.
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
22,750
Reaction score
12,724
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
"Problem is resolved" some of my favorite words to say to other ppl :)
 

ANI

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
1
Country
Finland
"The correct process is ... 1. Enable motion detection, Disable G-sensor on GUI."

Does this mean that if you want to use MD mode, you cannot or shouldn't have the G-sensor active for some reason?

I'm currently deciding between Innovv and Mobius and have planned to run the camera full time in motion detection mode. Being able to start the recording also via the G-sensor would be good...
 
OP
USDashCamera

USDashCamera

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
1,208
Reaction score
667
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550/650, plus many others
When I set up my camera for a security camera I had motion detect and g sensor ON and it worked fine although I don't know if the g sensor in looped recording causes it to record from bumps like in parking mode. You NEED the g sensor enabled to use the auto flip feature from my experience.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
C C1 / C2 3
C C1 / C2 11
Top