anyone update to 1.00.08 yet?

egonvdv

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
274
Likes
53
Location
A Dutchy in the South of
Country
France
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750 2CH + F770 2CH (rear cams used as side cams)
#1
we waited for over a year to only get "minor fixes" ????
 

sabbotage

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2016
Messages
20
Likes
6
Country
United States
#5
I updated mine and it very well may be a placebo effect, but the camera seems to boot up and start recording faster to me.
 

Maddog1974

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
358
Likes
127
Location
Colchester, Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F800 Pro Front & Rear
#6
From what i understand it is primarily a fix for 1 particular issue that could happen in a very specific scenario. 99.99% of people probably won't notice any difference at all.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
37
Likes
13
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F770 dual channel, with Cellink B battery
#7
Updated it only a few days ago. Haven't noticed anything different. Unofficial 128 GB Samsung SD card, which I have been using since camera purchase, is still working fine (was slightly worried before updating firmware, but everything works fine as before).
 
OP
OP
egonvdv

egonvdv

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
274
Likes
53
Location
A Dutchy in the South of
Country
France
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750 2CH + F770 2CH (rear cams used as side cams)
#8
all in all quite disappointing that they didn't implement any new features,
like the option to have unlimited parkmode (instead max 48hrs)...
 

enkei2k

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
1
Likes
0
Country
United States
#9
joined the forum today because I tried updating to the new .08.

I wish I searched before doing anything but now I tried updating it and then halfway it said "update failed" and now it's not even turning on... I tried restarting the car and it does nothing. I will try to disconnect the battery and see if that does anything later tonight. I searched on the internet only to find that it's risky to install update using the TW supplied memory card which is what I did.

I bought the F770 via Massdrop back in April of 17 so hopefully I have a warranty?? It was hardwired by a professional shop so I'm not sure what they did but it was working fine until the update.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.
 

Maddog1974

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
358
Likes
127
Location
Colchester, Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F800 Pro Front & Rear
#10
I've literally updated hundreds of cameras using Thinkware cards and i have NEVER had a failure. In the UK some cars shut down the ignition circuit if they detect the battery getting a bit low and if this happens whilst updating then it can cause this. I always recommend starting the car whilst the update is done.

You will probably find the camera is dead now all you can try is the small reset button on the right of the unit with a paperclip and hold this for 5 seconds (this will discharge the capacitor inside the unit too) re-power it and cross your fingers. Otherwise you will either need to find someone who has the reflashing jig (we do but obviously we're in the UK) or send it back for a replacement under warranty.
 
OP
OP
egonvdv

egonvdv

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
274
Likes
53
Location
A Dutchy in the South of
Country
France
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750 2CH + F770 2CH (rear cams used as side cams)
#11
Update worked without problems. nothings changed in the performance though...
 

Maddog1974

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
358
Likes
127
Location
Colchester, Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F800 Pro Front & Rear
#13
07 primarily made it so if you were driving 10% under the speed limit of the road it would stop the 'Mobile camera zone' messages. 08 cures an issue where on the odd occasion the speed camera database could be deleted.
 

djtest

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
2
Likes
0
Country
Lithuania
#14
07 primarily made it so if you were driving 10% under the speed limit of the road it would stop the 'Mobile camera zone' messages. 08 cures an issue where on the odd occasion the speed camera database could be deleted.
Thank you.
 

Blanco954

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
United States
#15
joined the forum today because I tried updating to the new .08.

I wish I searched before doing anything but now I tried updating it and then halfway it said "update failed" and now it's not even turning on... I tried restarting the car and it does nothing. I will try to disconnect the battery and see if that does anything later tonight. I searched on the internet only to find that it's risky to install update using the TW supplied memory card which is what I did.

I bought the F770 via Massdrop back in April of 17 so hopefully I have a warranty?? It was hardwired by a professional shop so I'm not sure what they did but it was working fine until the update.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.
I am in the same boat as you the firmware update bricked my unit https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/firmware-update-on-my-f770-bricked-my-dashcam.33778/
 

Maddog1974

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
358
Likes
127
Location
Colchester, Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F800 Pro Front & Rear
#16
I'm 100% sure it's nothing to do with the memory card doing this. I can honestly say i have upgraded hundreds of Thinkware cameras always using a genuine Thinkware card and i have never had a single failure! I'm not quite sure why the odd one does fail, i've always suspected some vehicles shut off the ignition circuit if they detect the battery of the car getting low and if it does this mid update it could cause an issue.

I meant to say in the PM to you have you unplugged the Power cable and then pressed the small reset button on the side for 5 seconds with a paper clip or similar? It's unlikely to help but it did fix 1 once!
 

Dippy

Active Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
246
Likes
76
Country
United Kingdom
#17
I updated my F750 to F770 v08 from v06 without problem. I had noticed that it had suddenly stopped reporting cameras so I hope this fixed it
 

Similar threads