Ausdom A260 issue

pepo1

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
New Zealand
My Ausdom A260 spasmodically records for up to 15 seconds, then intermittently displays a spinner icon and stops recording.
I've tried resetting the unit and re-formatting the card. When I attempt to format, I always get the error "Format failed!.
I'm guessing it's related to the card and I need a replacement, but posted this in case anyone had a similar occurrence and found a solution
Thanks, Paul
 
OP
P

pepo1

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
New Zealand
Thanks, how do I connect the card to my laptop in order to do that? Leave it in the camera, then plug in the camera USB?
 
OP
P

pepo1

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
New Zealand
OK I figured it out, but it says "Cannot write protected card"
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,680
Reaction score
1,284
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
You need a card reader.

What card is it? Sounds like it is locked in read only mode. If that's the case, you need a new card. Do not use SanDisk Ultra cards (red and grey) unless it is the new A1 series (must say A1 on the card).
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,176
Reaction score
4,585
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius, G1W-S, G1W-HC,, G1W clone, B1W, N2 Pro, K2S
Yep, that message means the card is dead. Good deals from Amazon on Samsung EVO Select (same as EVO Plus) and it's gained an excellent reputation in most dashcams. Transcend 400X is another good one but costs more. Dashcams work cards harder than any other gadget, so the cheap ones will disappoint if they work at all. And watch for fakes.

Phil
 
OP
P

pepo1

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
New Zealand
Thanks for your help. It's all working well now with a new SD Card.
For others who may have this camera, the manual is next to useless with respect to setting up the cam. Before using the card in your camera, you have to format the card by inserting it into card reader and then into the SD card reader slot of your laptop. You also need a program on your laptop to perform the format. I downloaded "SD Card Formatter" and it worked perfectly. Once formatted, insert the card into your camera and you're good to go.
 

Similar threads


Top