best settings for motorcycle action

Laudat Nicolae

Reaction score
Country
Italy
the street the asfalt you can see it only 3 m ahead.that s the depth of field max.my question is .i go fast on my bike,what should i chose at metering average center spot car dvr i dont think so.i ve seen that when gyro is off the image has more detail.at ev i have +1/3.what s better 0? iso auto contrast normal.what is wdr ?about colours?sharpness normal.at every update i try to find the best setting.if anyone has a bike what r u using

I am trying to fully understand your concern here. I use my Git2 on my helmet and handlebar mount on my MT-07/FZ-07. I am no video expert but I’m a photography hobbist.

I’ve set everything to default. Gyro on, 1080 60fps and is happy as it acts as a dashcam.

Depth of field: Action cam set up as wide angle lens so everything is in focus. If you prefer to set the focus to a certain distance then you will have to adjust it manually.

Metering: This affects how the Git2 determines the exposure and what ISO, shutter speed, aperture uses. I would suggest using CAR DVR or Center for motorcycle.

CAR DVR – not sure what this is because it’s uncommon in photography

Spot – it ‘looks’ at the center of the frame (1% - 5%) to determines the exposure

Center – it ‘looks’ at the center of the frame (60%-80%) to determines the exposure. For instance, if the center of the frame is a dark object then it will raise the exposure.

Average – it divides the frame to different zones and calculate the exposure. No way to tell how it is divided unless #Gitup shares this information. No other companies (e.g. Sony, Canon, Nikon) share this information.

EV: Is for the exposure/brightness of the video. There is no 1 setting that does it all. For example, you set it as +1/3 and it looks great during the day but it will look dark in a tunnel or at night.