BlackVue DR550GW-2CH firmware v1.014 (En, Rus,..)

thanhvan229

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Country
Viet Nam
I do this and succeed
http://www.putty.org/
http://car-dvr.info/public/files/DR550-Eng-001.zip

After you download all and extract out the guys do it this way decent.
- With the DR550-Eng-001.zip unzip and copy the folder on the memory card is mod001 with blackvue folder
- The DR550 memory card slot and turn on wifi connected computer. then
- Connect putty. 192.168.1.8 and click tenel.
login: root, pass: tp
- After connecting putty / mnt/mmc/mod001/upgrade.sh
- Done in English and it would be decent guys but not yet completed.
- Next take the memory card out. format the memory card and install the setup file on the memory card FW1.014E
 

alexsoll

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
1,747
Reaction score
1,473
Location
Minsk
Country
Belarus
Dash Cam
Street Guardian, BlackVue, TrendVision
Do not rush to upgrade to firmware 1.014!
There is a problem connecting to the telnet, wait for custom firmware on the site: http://car-dvr.info/forum
thanhvan229, 192.168.1.8 address is not correct + Please do not lay out in the open access, hide under the spoiler login and pass!!!
 

thanhvan229

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Country
Viet Nam
I did it my own way! the way I do
Tenel 192.168.8.1
Login: root, pass:tp
I currently use the Korean language fw1014E for dr550
 

RacingSnake

Active Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
232
Reaction score
41
Country
United Kingdom
Do not rush to upgrade to firmware 1.014!
There is a problem connecting to the telnet, wait for custom firmware on the site: http://car-dvr.info/forum
thanhvan229, 192.168.1.8 address is not correct + Please do not lay out in the open access, hide under the spoiler login and pass!!!
Hi, What is the issue with the firmware? - I don't need to access Telnet do I?
I had a look on that linked forum, but it's all foreign to me :D So, I'm not sure what benefits any custom firmware would bring.

Are there issues with the standard firmware? and if I were to upgrade to 1.014, could I change later?
 

TEB

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
29
Reaction score
2
Location
S.C. Pennsylvania USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR550GW-HD 2CH
I do this and succeed
http://www.putty.org/
http://car-dvr.info/public/files/DR550-Eng-001.zip

After you download all and extract out the guys do it this way decent.
- With the DR550-Eng-001.zip unzip and copy the folder on the memory card is mod001 with blackvue folder
- The DR550 memory card slot and turn on wifi connected computer. then
- Connect putty. 192.168.1.8 and click tenel.
login: root, pass: tp
- After connecting putty / mnt/mmc/mod001/upgrade.sh
- Done in English and it would be decent guys but not yet completed.
- Next take the memory card out. format the memory card and install the setup file on the memory card FW1.014E
Not certain I understand the procedure shown above...(BTW - I'd like to update a newly purchased ENGLISH BlackVue DR550GW-2CH to the latest firmware) So here are my questions/concerns:
1. After down-loading and unzipping PUTTY and the ZIP file from CAR-DVR.INFO. Correct?
2. I then copy what to what? Am I copying the mod001 from the existing card to a folder? Or the mod001 from the extracted files to the card?
3. I then establish a telnet connection via PUTTY to the IP of the BlackVue DR550GW-2CH. Correct?
4. I then do what with the / mnt/mmc/mod001/upgrade.sh? Again, am I copying that set of files from what to what?
5. "Done in ENGLISH" Not certain what that comment means?
6. Last but not least, I then take the card out of the camera and format it, is that correct? If so what was I doing earlier, as the formatting will undoubtedly wipe the card clean. Then run the install? Correct?

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance, I realize some things may be lost in translation here, and I just do not want to damage or disable my new camera.
 

RacingSnake

Active Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
232
Reaction score
41
Country
United Kingdom
I'm certainly very new to this but:
I'd like to update a newly purchased ENGLISH BlackVue DR550GW-2CH to the latest firmware
If that's the case, why don't you use the standard updater which comes down with the download from the pitasoft site? - shouldn't need to mess around with telnet if you're sticking with standard.
 

TEB

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
29
Reaction score
2
Location
S.C. Pennsylvania USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR550GW-HD 2CH
I'm certainly very new to this but:

If that's the case, why don't you use the standard updater which comes down with the download from the pitasoft site? - shouldn't need to mess around with telnet if you're sticking with standard.
Good question - my understanding was that as of last week there was only a Korean version of the update... however, I checked today and sure enough there is an English version... so that should make things a bit less complicated! THANKS RACINGSNAKE!
 

RacingSnake

Active Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
232
Reaction score
41
Country
United Kingdom
No worries, I only knew about that as I downloaded it yesterday in anticipation of my 550 turning up in the next couple of days!
 

thanhvan229

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Country
Viet Nam
Hi TEB! You are using DR550 Korean or English? I used DR550 Korean and English moved successfully.
Am I the mod001 copying from the existing card to a folder with blackvue
I then establish a telnet connection via PUTTY to the IP of the BlackVue DR550GW! Yes
I then do what with the / mnt/mmc/mod001/upgrade.sh!Yes
 
  • Like
Reactions: TEB

TEB

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
29
Reaction score
2
Location
S.C. Pennsylvania USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR550GW-HD 2CH
Hello THANHVAN229 - thanks for the reply. I still do not understand the process you are prescribing.
Well I received my KOREAN DR55GW today. I had no idea that PITTASOFT locked the firmware to the device. SO as I'm sure others have realized. One can not load the English firmware onto the Korean camera.
Which begins to explain all the gyrations others have gone through to convert to English.
****UPDATE****

THANHVAN229 - I stumbled ahead and finally got the PUTTY/mod001/ process to work!
Thanks!
 
Last edited:

thanhvan229

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Country
Viet Nam
1. Connect to your car DVR with your PC/notebook via Wi-Fi. Default SSID is a
combination of a model name, a dash, and last six symbols of its MAC address.
For example, DR550GW-XXXXXX.
Password: blackvue , or the one you have assigned by setting it up in
configuration files.

2. Use Telnet to make a connection:
IP: 192.168.8.1 , or the one you have assigned by setting it up in
configuration files.
Port: 23
Login: root
Password: tp
You will enter to a command prompt of a Linux shell as a super-user.

3. Execute the following command:
/mnt/mmc/mod001/upgrade.sh

4. Enjoy!

http://car-dvr.info/public/files/DR550-Eng-001.zip
 

Bruno28

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
I need help. PleaseMine is korean version. I tried to upgrade to latest firmware in english i get the message "version information is different"I was going to follow these steps but, now the thing will not initialize and just repeat the msg all the time.
They dont have the Korean version on their website so i can go back and try this procedure on this thread.
 

thanhvan229

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Country
Viet Nam
you make your way. If you are using fw 1004K. fw 1014K do the same....
 

dashcamsg

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
Singapore
Hi guys

I will like to know where in blackvue folder do i copy the mod001 folder to

1. Application
2. Config
3. Doc
4. record
5. software
6. system
or
make it the 7th folder in the blackvue folder

Many Thanks
 

Shirrine

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2013
Messages
14
Reaction score
1
Country
Singapore
Copied the mod001 folder to the root directory of SD card, that is outside the blackvue folder.
I have just completed my update from Korean version 1014k to 1014E just now.
 

Similar threads


Top