Blunt first purchase advice.

roadrash

Reaction score
In November, my car was hit by my next door neighbors work truck, causing $6000 worth of damage. The responding officer was not willing to give an opinion, even with tracks in the snow, and my paints chips on the trucks bumper. I am currently in the process of taking my neighbor to court. Following this experience, I heard about dash cams with the coverage of the meteor in Russia, and it got me thinking.

I woke up this morning, and a deliver truck or something, must have performed a 3-point turn, and I am guessing it did around $2500 worth of damage to the other side of my car, including breaking my side mirror.

I am sick of being screwed. I want a quality dash cam system in my car that is always running, covering front and back, and as much of the sides that is reasonable.

I am a full time student, and I definitely want to make a wise purchase that isn't over the top, but with what has happened, I am pretty willing to go the length for a foolproof system.

I have read a bunch of the reviews on this site, and I am seeking some input:

1. 24/7 coverage. Meaning that it has to have an awesome park mode.
2. Low profile so that it is not noticeable, and therefore not an object of interest for theft.
3. Coverage of front and back. I do not care if it is a system, 2 of the same camera, or a mix. I just want it to work.
4. It absolutely needs to be a night performer.
5. I live in Edmonton Alberta Canada, so it has to be able to survive/function in -40'C weather.

Off the hip, I am currently thinking of:

- Livue LB100, best bang for your buck, but it is larger than I would prefer
- Lukas LK-7900 for overall quality and size, but the cost is hard to swallow when I can't just return it to Costco/Best Buy if anything goes wrong.

I know that I am kinda asking "what is the best", but I just want a system that works, and keeps working, while working well...