Budget Rear Window Dashcam: Viofo A119 or Mobius Lens D

cheeze

Reaction score
Country
United States
I've been using G1WH as my front dashcam for 2 years. Last week, I almost got rear ended twice by two speeding cars but I can't get their license plates at all. Now, I want to buy a rear window dashcam but having hard times choosing between A119 and Mobius lens D (or maybe C2).
1. My rear window is tinted.
2. I live in Southern California so I want a dashcam that won't go out of focus under heat.
3. I take away my G1WH and put it the glove box when I left my car. But I don't want to do the same for the rear window one. I want the new dashcam small and stealthy.
4. I drive at night daily.

Thanks!

I'm a fan of the Mobius "B" as a rear cam. Small, discreet, highly reliable, especially in hot weather. The C2 lens set to narrow would be very similar to the B lens for FOV coverage. The only downside might be that low light performance is not so terrific compared to newer tech.

I've been experimenting with an Aukey D2-02 as a rear camera with decent results so far. (FOV is similar to the Mobius despite the stated 170º coverage) Not had enough experience with it to recommend it or pan it yet however but it is hard to beat for the price. ($69.99 on Amazon with periodic Lightning Deals at $52.49!)

If I were to go for any other wedge shaped cam for the rear it would be the A119.

P.S. The comprehensive exposure and imaging controls on the Mobius make it one of the better cams for dealing with tinted windows.

Last edited:
I've been using G1WH as my front dashcam for 2 years. Last week, I almost got rear ended twice by two speeding cars but I can't get their license plates at all. Now, I want to buy a rear window dashcam but having hard times choosing between A119 and Mobius lens D (or maybe C2).
1. My rear window is tinted.
2. I live in Southern California so I want a dashcam that won't go out of focus under heat.