Button-press for File protection...?

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
49,745
Reaction score
27,994
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Yes it does show the speed. Easy enough to disconnect the gps module if I don't want km/h showing. A bit pointless having gps though if it isnt used for the speed. It doesnt seem to work with dashcam viewer software either
the playback software not working is something that the software author would need to adjust, firmware won't help that, adding a MPH option isn't too hard though, that should be doable
 

Paul Shires

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Location
Worcester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Old Shark (front), G1w-s (rear)
the playback software not working is something that the software author would need to adjust, firmware won't help that, adding a MPH option isn't too hard though, that should be doable
Yes, I realise that. I have emailed the guy from Dashcam Viewer but not heard back. The video plays fine but shows double the actual speed.

Just started looking at howto edit the firmware. Is that something the user can do without too much hassle?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
49,745
Reaction score
27,994
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Yes, I realise that. I have emailed the guy from Dashcam Viewer but not heard back. The video plays fine but shows double the actual speed.

you can message @traveler here also, maybe he didn't get your email, he's normally red hot on the follow up

Just started looking at howto edit the firmware. Is that something the user can do without too much hassle?
Unlikely to be something you could do yourself
 

Paul Shires

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Location
Worcester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Old Shark (front), G1w-s (rear)
you can message @traveler here also, maybe he didn't get your email, he's normally red hot on the follow up"



Unlikely to be something you could do yourself
Thanks. From his site he seems to be pretty busy so I figured I was well down the list. I will try on here, thanks

Thats a shame
 
Last edited:

Russelluk

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
88
Reaction score
13
Country
United Kingdom
none of the dash cam viewers will work with the G1W-S with the speed on the gps, its doubles the speed at least it shown me doing nearly 240mph when I was doing around 75mph on the motorway. and yes it be good to have it in MPH on the actual raw footage. and the date dd/mm/yy . if its right there is not going to be any more updates it be a shame as it a nice camera to be honest, yes I still have audio problems if its running 24/7, but I just turn it off and on and that resolves it until it comes round to rewrite then you have to turn off and on again. I've got 3 of these cameras now. but I can live with the little glitches. and just see what comes out in the future.
 
OP
DashcamDPR

DashcamDPR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
581
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A119 Pro, Mio Mivue 508 for the work van
none of the dash cam viewers will work with the G1W-S with the speed on the gps, its doubles the speed at least it shown me doing nearly 240mph
Does the ST still use the Volvo turbo engine? :D

I eBay'd my G1W-s in favour of a stealth front cam and I thought I'd regret it because the video quality was so good, but I never found a firmware to change the on-screen speed to mph and I wasn't too happy with how "fish-eye'd" the FOV was. I didn't really suffer any other "glitches" with mine, probably due to not having it permanently connected. Bought an A118c (very cheap) and the GPS receiver off the G1w-s works with it so I'm happy enough. Hopefully when my cams have died there'll be something else just as great on the market
 

traveler

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
390
Reaction score
684
Location
Orange County, CA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A119V2, SG9665GC, SG9663DCPro + many more

Paul Shires

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Location
Worcester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Old Shark (front), G1w-s (rear)

traveler

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
390
Reaction score
684
Location
Orange County, CA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A119V2, SG9665GC, SG9663DCPro + many more
@Paul Shires, thanks for the files. I took a look at them. It appears that VIOFO's firmware for the G1W-S stores the GPS data in the Novatek format (the same format used by the StreetGuardian SG9665GC and a number of others).

However, unlike most of those models, the G1W-S stores speed in units of km/hour instead of Knots. Knots sounds like a strange unit to store vehicle speed, but that's what most of them do (it probably has nautical roots. NMEA, another common GPS format for dash cams, also specifies speed in Knots).

I have added logic to Dashcam Viewer's auto-detection engine to compensate for this difference. Expect to see G1W-S compatibility in the next release.
 

Paul Shires

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
2
Location
Worcester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Old Shark (front), G1w-s (rear)
@Paul Shires, thanks for the files. I took a look at them. It appears that VIOFO's firmware for the G1W-S stores the GPS data in the Novatek format (the same format used by the StreetGuardian SG9665GC and a number of others).

However, unlike most of those models, the G1W-S stores speed in units of km/hour instead of Knots. Knots sounds like a strange unit to store vehicle speed, but that's what most of them do (it probably has nautical roots. NMEA, another common GPS format for dash cams, also specifies speed in Knots).

I have added logic to Dashcam Viewer's auto-detection engine to compensate for this difference. Expect to see G1W-S compatibility in the next release.
Fantastic! Thanks for the quick work John, I really didn't expect it so soon given your workload.

Really much appreciated!

Paul
 
OP
DashcamDPR

DashcamDPR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
581
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A119 Pro, Mio Mivue 508 for the work van
is the firmware in your picture the new or the old? (I no longer have the G1W-S to be able to check)
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,411
Reaction score
1,812
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I seem to remember that the version number didn't change with the latest update. However for me the save a video function works
Correct, the firmware number did not change. @mihails did you manually default your settings in the menu after updating?
 

Deleted member 46308

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
144
Reaction score
245
@Paul Shires, thanks for the files. I took a look at them. It appears that VIOFO's firmware for the G1W-S stores the GPS data in the Novatek format (the same format used by the StreetGuardian SG9665GC and a number of others).

However, unlike most of those models, the G1W-S stores speed in units of km/hour instead of Knots. Knots sounds like a strange unit to store vehicle speed, but that's what most of them do (it probably has nautical roots. NMEA, another common GPS format for dash cams, also specifies speed in Knots).

I have added logic to Dashcam Viewer's auto-detection engine to compensate for this difference. Expect to see G1W-S compatibility in the next release.
Nice work @traveler
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,411
Reaction score
1,812
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Maybe try to re-load the firmware again. It's working on the units I have here. Menu button locks the file and places it in the RO folder.
 

mihails

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
15
Reaction score
4
Country
Latvia
Maybe try to re-load the firmware again. It's working on the units I have here. Menu button locks the file and places it in the RO folder.
Yes, I tried with different SD cards and many times, but without result.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,411
Reaction score
1,812
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Yes, I tried with different SD cards and many times, but without result.
Not sure why it's not working for you. Where did you get the firmware file from and what is your update process?
 
Top