Camera restarting on car start up issue

Adamrwood

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have the A129 DUO and I'm a driving instructor. When pupils stall and restart the engine, the camera would restart and take 20 seconds or so to start recording again. Not ideal when we're at risk of being rear ended.

To try and help this I bought a powerbank that supports pass through charging. That way I can leave the powerbank charging whilst I'm driving and most times the camera will continue recording. Occasionally it will still restart.

The main problem I'm having though is sometimes the restarting the engine will freeze the camera and I could be driving round for hours and the lights will still be on showing the camera working but it has actually frozen so isn't recording and needs to be turned off at the power and restarted to get it working again.

I've checked my fuse box with a voltmeter and was thinking of hardwiring both live cables to permanent live to see if this corrects the problem. However, both the permanent live and ignition live drop to around 10v when starting the car so I'm guessing that would have the same problem.

Has anyone else found a way to prevent the camera restarting/freezing whilst the engine is restarted? I've also had it freeze after getting home and turning engine off without restarting.

Maybe I need a different power bank or there is one specifically designed for dash cams?

Any help appreciated

If you are using the HK3 hardwire kit then it will not shutdown because of 10 volts unless it stays at 10 volts for 90 seconds, which will not happen when starting an engine,

So you just need to find a fuse that stays on while starting the engine, but turns off when parked.