Can I have some tips on improving the view please?

ThingInTheAttic

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
SG9663DC
Ok, so this is the first chance I've had to have a look at a night-time recording since I've had the DC installed. Front recording looks ok to me apart from I think the camera might need tilting up a bit as I can see that curve and reflection of the bonnet. But the street lights are all haloed and practically look like the Star of David, can that be improved or is that normal?
I'm not happy with the view from the back-angle is ok I think, but what's all that misty blurryness, is that dirt/grease on the inside of the window? Rear window has factory installed privacy glass, does this cut down the amount of light getting into the rear camera?

That's it really, I'd just like any advice on any improvements you guys can suggest. Thanks! oh, and this is my first attempt at uploading videos onto youtube, and there may be tuneless singing in some of it because I forgot the mic was on on the DC. Sorry bout that. Can't sing to save my life :)

In general with the new sensors you can make do with a 50/50 split at the horizon, so by the looks of it both of the cameras could need to be turned a little down.
Halos are normal to some degree, to me it seem to have to do with the cleanness of the windscreen ( inside and out ) - the time after you set off / cold car ( especially this time of the year )
So a strict routine of cleaning windows not least the inside that do get pretty dirty even if you don't smoke or have smokers in the car.

Your blurry rear camera footage might be the result of the protective plastic still being on the lens, or dirty fingers from the install.
A lot of dirt accumulate back there, i am vary happy for my rear washer / wiper to help with the outside of the glass, personally i disconnect my cameras both front ( 4 cameras ) and rear, so i don't have to be careful when cleaning the car window.