Capacitor based dashcam

basjke

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
I'm new to dashcams, but was considering a Mini 0805. Then I read that when the battery goes bad the firmware will respond erratically, even when connected to permanent power. Since I live in tropical Thailand I may expect the battery not to last long.

In a post on this forum I read that the solution would be to switch to capacitor based cameras.

Usually this future is not mentioned in the specs, so I would like to ask if Dome G90 or G98 cameras are capacitor based, and if not which lower priced cameras are in that category.

Dome does not make any capacitor dash cameras that I'm aware of. Not yet anyway.

Dome does not make any capacitor dash cameras that I'm aware of. Not yet anyway.

Thanks, I'm still researching as this is my first cam, and when looking at images it seems that G98 picture quality is superior to Mini so will for the moment focus on the G98.

Would it be expensive to make a capacitor pcb to use with this camera, and would there be enough space in the G98 to place it?

Mini 0903 has a capacitor at a similar price. A119 does as well.

A119 has much better quality due to the newer Novatek chip.

Doubt firmware would run camera properly if you replaced the battery with capacitors.
What about a g1w-c camera. They are dirt cheap. Maybe a118c or a119 for a little more money?

The mini 0903 is 1080p only, but the A119 looks interesting. It is still in pre sale at gearbest I notice, so it must be pretty new. Are there any video images of the A119 available yet?

There are a few threads on the A119. You can find some video in there. Go to the end of the threads to find the video of the production models. Firmware has changed a lot from the pre-production models/video.

There are a few threads on the A119. You can find some video in there. Go to the end of the threads to find the video of the production models. Firmware has changed a lot from the pre-production models/video.