card size limit for video recording

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought a 0805 and a cheap class 10 card 64mb off eBay, it recorded one trip fine, but it's now coming up with the above message. I've formatted the card again, but still no joy. Instructions say to use a class 6 card. (What's difference between class 6 and class 10 cards?)

What's wrong?
 

thancam

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
906
Location
Hà Nội
Country
Viet Nam
Dash Cam
too many
I've just bought a 0805 and a cheap class 10 card 64mb off eBay, it recorded one trip fine, but it's now coming up with the above message. I've formatted the card again, but still no joy. Instructions say to use a class 6 card. (What's difference between class 6 and class 10 cards?)

What's wrong?
format the card in NTFS
 
OP
B

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
I just formatted "in camera"
 

thancam

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
906
Location
Hà Nội
Country
Viet Nam
Dash Cam
too many
try it again :) format in computer
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,697
Reaction score
5,143
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, N2 Pro, K2S, B2W, (ex Mobius)
The 'class' difference is mainly in the speed which data can be written to the card. While you may not need a higher class and higher speed it almost never hurts to have that ;) Plus most of the faster cards are better made because they have to be to operate faster.

Cheap cards are a no-no with dashcams because their true write speeds are often over-stated and some are poorly made with less capacity than stated too :( Stick with only the cards recommended on DCT for best results- we have no interest in that except in seeing you have a happy experience with your cam :cool:

Phil
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
99.9% chance that's a fake card, you can test it with h2testw to confirm

buy yourself a proper brand name (genuine) card and you should be good to go
 
OP
B

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
How where do I test with h2testw please. (am a newbie here sorry)
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
download the software (google it, you'll find it straight away) put the card in your PC, delete anything that's on there now then test with the software, you can post the results here if you're not sure how to interpret them
 
OP
B

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Windows wanted to format card before I could run h2testw and it was unable to complete the format so I guess I've a iffy card?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Windows wanted to format card before I could run h2testw and it was unable to complete the format so I guess I've a iffy card?
fake is the word you're looking for, probably 4gb to 8gb in size with a fake allocation table to trick the device into seeing 64gb, they work until the point where the real memory runs out then they crash from that point on
 
OP
B

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
To cut a long story short, I thought it wasn't working because it was a class 10 card (not class 6 as instructions requested) so I bought another one...

Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/282101853271
There it says class 6 but he sent me a class 10 will that work....and that card looks better I think?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
you're at least looking in the right price range now, that particular series in the Sandisk range though are not normally a good choice for dashcam use
 

CB1100FER

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
7
Location
Windsor, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Vicovation OPIA2
I love this line in the description of the first one you bought.
"Cards will vary in capacity and speed as they are factory formatted in bulk and so real capacity will vary from 8GB to 64 GB"

 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I love this line in the description of the first one you bought.
"Cards will vary in capacity and speed as they are factory formatted in bulk and so real capacity will vary from 8GB to 64 GB"
nice, I didn't get to reading it but good to see they are so honest about their fake cards :p
 
OP
B

Bluecray

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
you're at least looking in the right price range now, that particular series in the Sandisk range though are not normally a good choice for dashcam use
Whats a good card for dashcam use please??
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,650
Reaction score
26,130
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Transcend, Samsung, any brand in their High Endurance series is usually fine, main thing to look out for is the card is genuine and suggest sticking with top tier brands and you should be ok
 

Top