Connecting Mobius to Galaxy Ace 2, Can it be done?

ajw1100

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Now Viofo 119S. Was Mobius Action Cam
Another newbie here with first Dashcam. I have the Mobius Action Camera with the latest wide angle lens. I can connect to my PC and have set up the camera using msetup.

I have downloaded and installed the Mobius USB Tools app to my Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 version 4.1.2 android phone which is in its original setup.

I have purchased an OTG lead as shown and suggested but no go, also tried a Data lead and again no go.

Has anyone succeeded in connecting said phone (Or any similar Samsung?) I have read the phone manual but cannot see if it supports 'mass storage' or not.

If it cannot connect directly is there a way of seeing the video footage directly from the Micro SD card?

Just spotted that the phone does not support files saved as MOV so I need to change this in mSetup to something that is supported! Would MP4 be a good choice or something else? Will the phones Video Player play a Mobius video from the Micro SD card?

A lead connection would be much more preferable if its possible. Any suggestions appreciated.

Last edited:
I just bought an OTG card reader for my Galaxy tab 2 so I can view the micro SD card when I take it out of the mobius from in the car. It recongnised a memory card was inserted without any settings changed, but I had to use a file explorer to view the card. Android wont play MOV files as standard, so put VLC player on it for the mov files.

It didnt work on my goto G 3rd gen and seems to be a bit hit and miss to what does work. I read somewhere that it is important to have the latest android operating system, so yours may be too old.

I must also mention I bought an OTG cable for other purposes and it didnt work a year ago, it didnt work on anything android or PC for that matter, but those are the joys of an ebay purchase.

Last edited: