Consensus on basic settings? (bitrate, loop recording, wdr, exposure, g-sensor, etc)

BombayDuo

Reaction score
Country
United States
What are everyone's settings for the A129 Duo?
Also, what is your reasoning for each choice?

Bitrate: high or low ?
Loop Recording: Off, 1 Min, 2 Min, 3 Min, 5 Min, 10 Min ?
WDR: On or off ?
Parking Mode: AutoDetection, Time Lapse 1fps, 2fps, 3fps, 5fps, 10fps, Low Bitrate ?
Time Lapse Recording: off, 100ms, 200ms etc ?
Motion Detection: off or on ?
G-Sensor: Low, mid, high ?
Boot Delay: off, 5 sec, 10 sec ?
Frequency: 50 or 60 hz ?

Here is what I would use myself

Bitrate: high
Loop Recording: 1 Min
WDR: On
Parking Mode: Low Bitrate
Time Lapse Recording: off
Motion Detection: off
G-Sensor: Low
Boot Delay: off
Frequency: 60 hz

Thank you. I am new to DC's, and many of these settings are foreign to me, so if I may ask:
  • why would you use a 1 min loop vs 2, 3, etc?
  • why low bitrate on parking mode vs something like 3fps ?

Thank you. I am new to DC's, and many of these settings are foreign to me, so if I may ask:
  • why would you use a 1 min loop vs 2, 3, etc?
  • why low bitrate on parking mode vs something like 3fps ?

1min files are easier to deal with (smaller) personal preference.

Low Bit rate will still be 30fps with audio
No audio anything less than 30fps

I’ve only just got my A129 so not yet decided what most of the settings I’ll be using with it,

but on previous DVR’s my preferences if selection was available were

bitrate, high,
all things being equal, should equal more data

loop recording, 1 minute
easer to handle, but more importantly, if you have/get a corrupt file or the last file hasn’t saved before shutdown, you’ve only lost 1 minute of recording

WDR, test the DVR to see if this feature is adds anything to the image, mostly set to on in the past but test it with the A129 to see if you think it helps in difficult lighting

parking mode, never used it in the past