Constant reboot problem

Sugar Silva

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
13
Country
United States
Hi all,
My camera has started rebooting over and over. Last time this happened, I replaced the SD card and the problem went away for about a year. This time, when I replaced the card, the problem went away for one day and came back the next. Any suggestions or is my 650 dead?

PS - this is the card I just installed
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B073JYC4XM
 
OP
S

Sugar Silva

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
13
Country
United States
Might be bricked, unfortunately. Last resort is basically to try a firmware reflash from http://blackvue.com/downloads and use a microSD card that's between 16-32GB to do so.
Thanks for that. I only have a 128gb card so I'm going to try with that first. I talked to Blackvue and they are going to troubleshoot with me but worst case scenario is $150 usd for a repair. That still beats buying a new one :)
 
OP
S

Sugar Silva

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
13
Country
United States
@BlackboxMyCar I didn’t have any luck yet. I can try the smaller capacity card you recommended (need to buy it) but I’m curious as to why that would better than the 64 and 128 I have now. Thanks for the help.
 

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
718
Reaction score
337
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
@BlackboxMyCar I didn’t have any luck yet. I can try the smaller capacity card you recommended (need to buy it) but I’m curious as to why that would better than the 64 and 128 I have now. Thanks for the help.
It's just more stable to do a firmware reflash/update using a smaller card. If the firmware successfully updated with your 128GB and you did the steps correctly, a smaller card probably won't help here.
 

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
718
Reaction score
337
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
In case this is a power issue - how is your dash cam powered? Is it hardwired? Check if the fuses are OK and ground is still secure.
 

DaHen

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Location
Eastern Massachusetts
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Q800PRO 2K QHD
After almost four years, my DR650GW-2CH also started to reboot on its own. Tried three different memory cards as well but didn't cure the problem. Figured I wore it out, ha.:)
Now I have the Q800PRO.
 

Similar threads


Top