Continuous recording as parking mode

Ezreal

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi I am new to dash cams. I know dash cams offers parking mode. But I want to know if it's alright to run a dash cam in continuous recording when the car is parked? What are the pros and cons?

Hi I am new to dash cams. I know dash cams offers parking mode. But I want to know if it's alright to run a dash cam in continuous recording when the car is parked? What are the pros and cons?

It’ll drain your battery pack or your car battery fast and you’ll have to scour through hours of footage on the entire memory card if something does happen, like an incident of vandalism etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wear and tear, battery drain, overheating, a proper parking mode function is always a preferred option

Some now offer continuous recording in parking mode, BUT ! using a lower bitrate that generate less heat and less memory used.
This might not be of any use if you intent to capture a fast event, but someone walking up to your car and vandalize it should be no problem.
I am hoping G sensor can be made to work alongside this mode to generate POI in the footage by taking a pic if triggered, that way you don't have to browse thru hours of footage if you had a event.

Welcome to DCT @Ezreal :)