flank

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
VIOFO A119S

I almost went caca in my pants this morning :D

Some wakeup call :eek:

Good job the hard shoulder/emergency lane was clear.

sure he had a few lanes to cross - possible mistake or carelessness - at least he was signaling. His action seemed pretty obvious/predictable from the short video.

I used to be an over aggressive driver trying to *correct* or *catch* others. One thing that has made me a calmer, happier person: I always try to give someone who is obviously *working*, the benefit of the doubt.

now *dual trailers* on busy highways w/ poor signage is another issue for me.

His action seemed pretty obvious/predictable from the short video.

I thought he was signaling for a lane change, then for the next exit directly behind this. I wasn't expecting him to come all the way across and I was not going to challenge a 18 wheeler with my dinky car :D If he wanted to get off of this highway at that point, he was needed to be in my lane way earlier on.

If I knew he wanted to exit earlier, I would have slowed down and let him over. But when I did realize this, it was too late and there were cars behind me so I couldn't have slammed on the brakes without causing a multi-car crash. I had to drive on the side shoulder. This guy needs some re-training for sure.

Probably just confused at which turning to come off, had it happen myself but would probably get into a closer lane to turning. He did indicate which helps.

With the benefit of hindsight, it's always easy to avoid these accidents.
We are watching a DC clip - so we are expecting something to happen
We have a brief explanation "dangerous UPS truck driver" - again, we KNOW something will happen.
in this instance, I have only ever seen UPS using the transit vans - so seeing this big rig was a surprise for me.
When you're at the speed limit, you often don't notice these things until you're committed.