dash cam can't see the cars on my left & right at 4-way stop sign intersection?

J

Jaranson

I'm still a newbie to dash cams....

While watching a random clip that my dash cam captured, I noticed something...
my dash cam can't see the cars on my left & right at 4-way stop signs.

In the first screenshot below, I'm coming up to this 4-way stop sign intersection.
The cars on the left and right(not visible in the video) are also pulling up to the
stop signs. They came to a stop just before I pulled up to the white line.
I let them go first because they got there before me.

However, those two cars are not visible in either screenshot. What if one
of those two cars did not stop and T-boned me? How will I prove that I
got there first and the other car did not stop at the stop sign?

The dash cam has a 140-degreen wide-angle lens, according to the specs.
How can I measure it to see if they're correct or not?

20 feet from the stop, moving up at about 5mph... the SUV in front of me is completely stopped
Oe8CPYa.jpg

this is when the front of my bumper is at the white line, fully stopped.
bTdeHV9.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Jaranson, what brand / model dash cam you have?

It's a trade-off, wider view and details including licence plate numbers appear smaller in the image. So you need to trade-off seeing more of the sides versus capturing less detail.