dash cam records conversation from my car bluetooth speakerphone, should I tell the other party?

DieselFish

Reaction score
Country
United States
I was reviewing some old footage from my dash cam. I heard my entire conversation with an acquaintance.
My bluetooth speakerphone is on my visor, so everything was recorded by the dash cams' microphone.

Am I legally obligated to warn the other party that the conversation was record? (even unintentionally by
a dash cam that records whenever the car is on)

Probably depends on your state laws.
Used to be in some states it's legal if one party of a (in person) conversation knows it's being recorded. Other states not. I would expect further laws may apply to phone/wire communications.
"unintentional" doesn't matter. If I had to guess... Yes, you are legally required to inform the other party the conversation is being recorded.
[I am not a lawyer]

state laws vary. I am not a lawyer.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone_recording_laws#United_States

Federal Law: (Below)
(NSA/FBI/CIA exemptions duly noted... hehe) [edit: Funny, as I posted this No Agenda podcast stream just noted Linus Torvalds NODDED (affirmative) when asked if NSA requested a back-door to Linux... http://www.salon.com/2013/09/19/linux_creator_admits_nsa_demanded_backdoor/ ]
EWeek.com reported on Torvalds’ panel admission (although the suggestion is that the Linux creator resisted government pressure):

Torvalds was also asked if he had ever been approached by the U.S. government to insert a backdoor into Linux. Torvalds responded “no” while [nodding] his head “yes,” as the audience broke into spontaneous laughter.

Federal law requires that at least one party taking part in the call must be notified of the recording (18 U.S.C. §2511(2)(d)).

I think recording your phone conversation is okay. Haven't you seen so many controversies from phone conversations including LA Clippers' owner's scandal?