DDPai M6+ Android connection issues

En_croute

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
DR900s (50% Stolen!)
Hi, Dashcam newbie here,but reasonably tech savy.
Following TechMoan's review,I bought the DDPai M6+from eBay -arrived in the UK on Day 10. Yeah!

5hr drive ahead, so plonked it on the dash with some masking tape, will screen mount later.
Unable to connect my Motorola X Force (Marshmallow 6.0), so again sort out later.

Later:
Unable to connect to phone
Eventually rebooted phone and reset the camera
CONNECTION ACHIEVED!
Live stream viewable.

Try to configure settings, cannnot connect.
Try to upgrade firmware - switched to Wifi automatically and downloaded to phone.
Would not connect to M6+
Live stream not available.

Various reboots etc
Firmware has transferred - unit rebooted!

Cannot access settings - "Network connection failed"
Switches to M6+ WiFi OK, but won't access device regularly.

Reboot/reset - connection!
Settings-no connection
Live Stream-no connection

Loaded files from card - I have big fingers, but this was easy - spring-loaded,and does not sit flush.
The manual position on the dash,just with tape was not too bad - pictures are good -60% road,40% dash!.
Paused video is not sharp, but positioning wasn't great for roadsigns etc at 60mph
Magnet strong-it will be a heavy smash to displace this.

Not given up yet, but not happy with Android connectivity issues - auto switching is good
Any Android connection advice?

I've heard that powering down the car, so that just the camera is powered, can help. You could try powering the camera with a battery bank to test if car interference may be an issue.

I installed the ddpai m6+ today. Could not get the app to connect to the camera from my Nexus 6P.