DDPai mini 3 AWFUL video quality.

gonzo

Reaction score
Country
United States
I just got one of these and the video quality is awful, nothing like the examples on youtube, it's heavily compressed and artifacted. Here is a video I just pulled from the camera: https://streamable.com/30wbw
When there's no motion everything is fine, but the moment you start moving it all just turns into a blur. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money on this garbage.

those conditions are more difficult for any camera, uploading a video that has been re-encoded to a lower resolution and bitrate will make it look even worse though so not really helpful for anyone that might be considering one of these

It looks exactly like that when I look at it on my computer, it's not exaggerated at all. Here is a link to the original file, straight from the camera without additional compression: https://ufile.io/v34on

Last edited:
@gonzo I’m also new to the DDPai family but my 3 don’t have as bad quality as yours. What resolution are you using and where did you buy it from?

It's running at 1440p(1600p doesn't look any better) Bought it from amazon. I also updated to the newest firmware.

Hello friend,

1, This problem is actually reported by another customer in this forum;

2, Furthermore, DDPai engineer confirmed it is mosaic, because DDPai mini3's acutance and sharpness are high and accordingly it consumes high code rate, if there are too many details in the environment, for example, too many tree leaves, then it leads to "code rate is not enough";

3, DDPai engineer confirmed as well that they are working on new firmware and expect the new version can be released as sooner as possible, thanks for your patient waiting.

3, DDPai engineer confirmed as well that they are working on new firmware and expect the new version can be released as sooner as possible, thanks for your patient waiting.