Does having a dash cam affect your driving?

Borg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
A119
I joined the forum a few weeks ago to research my first dash cam. I'm probably going to get an A119 in a few weeks when the CPL comes out. As part of my research, I have been thinking about various usage scenarios such as driving, parking mode, etc. This got me to thinking about how it might affect my driving when I know that everything is being recorded. I think that it would probably be a continuous reminder to watch how I'm driving.

I like to think that I'm a pretty safe driver to begin with but we all have our moments where stressful driving situations can test our patience. So I'm curious what others have experienced once they started using cameras in their vehicle. How has having a dash cam affected the way that you drive?

Last edited:
I am quite patient driver too, but to be honest after installing my 1st dashcam I have started paying even more attention to my "small mistakes".

Last edited:
(...) but to be honest after installing my 1st dashcam I have started paying even more attention to my "small mistakes".
I think you speak for everyone. In my case, watching how I drove made me realize the "big mistakes" I was doing. ;)

Last edited:
I definitely made extra effort to drive correctly when I got my cam, but I've probably become desensitised to that a bit.
And other factors have made me lower my standards. I like to leave a very safe gap in front of me, but other people treat that as an invitation to overtake and cut me up. After watching my own footage of this happening and realising just how shameless (and usually dangerous) their behaviour is, I've started actively making sure the gap is not big enough for them to do it. I don't like doing that, but I don't like being treated like dirt either or encouraging unsafe habits in others, so I finally caved in. And in that one respect only, the camera has caused a drop in my driving standard.