DR550GW - Custom Firmware 1.2 - Date and Time Issue

Saj

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
70
Likes
13
Location
Nelson, Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR550GW
#1
Hi guys, got my DR550 all set up and recording and with the custom firmware 1.2 thanks to car-dvr.info!

Only problem is the time and date stamped on the videos, is all wrong and cannot get my head around how to amend it.

See below my current setting, bear in mind I live in England, so would set it to Europe/London, but the time is still wrong, way out in fact:






Not sure what exactly I need to do to atleast the time and date right, any ideas?

It looks like the system date is used in the stamp?
 
OP
OP
Saj

Saj

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
70
Likes
13
Location
Nelson, Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR550GW
#3
Yes I changed it to London and still it was wrong, but your instructions were perfect:

"Delete the contents of the system folder & the record folder.
In the custom fw interface set the Hardware time to GMT.
Then set the timezone to your local timezone (in the blackvue app)... then reboot the cam.

Then you'll need to wait for a GPS location to update it correctly."

Thanks !!!!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
96
Likes
17
Country
Australia
#5
Hi guys, got my DR550 all set up and recording and with the custom firmware 1.2 thanks to car-dvr.info!

Only problem is the time and date stamped on the videos, is all wrong and cannot get my head around how to amend it.

See below my current setting, bear in mind I live in England, so would set it to Europe/London, but the time is still wrong, way out in fact:




Not sure what exactly I need to do to atleast the time and date right, any ideas?

It looks like the system date is used in the stamp?
sorry didn't mean to hijack. just a sort of thanks for posting that pic with the "Set HW Time"

because i don't have this option to set HW time on firmware 1.0. i was looking everywhere for this and now i know what it looks like. so thanks:)

i guess there is not another way to change the HW time on CFW 1.0
 

RacingSnake

Active Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
232
Likes
41
Country
United Kingdom
#6
errr, it's exactly the same on all versions!!

I had (perhaps incorrectly) made the assumption you knew that you need to access the custom firmware interface instead of using the app?? (it is in the instructions for the custom firmware).

So connect to your camera via wifi, and enter 192.168.8.1 in internet explorer - the set HW time is on the very front page once it has loaded.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
96
Likes
17
Country
Australia
#7
errr, it's exactly the same on all versions!!

I had (perhaps incorrectly) made the assumption you knew that you need to access the custom firmware interface instead of using the app?? (it is in the instructions for the custom firmware).

So connect to your camera via wifi, and enter 192.168.8.1 in internet explorer - the set HW time is on the very front page once it has loaded.
here i can not find the "set HW time"
even in settings menu



Maybe it is CFW 1.1 +
 

RacingSnake

Active Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
232
Likes
41
Country
United Kingdom
#8
If you read through the main custom firmware thread you'll see a section fairly early on with me complaining about the time settings :D
at that time I was on version 1 and the button was there. :eek:


edit, I must apologise, on reading through my old posts it seems I went straight to version 1.1.
So I assume thats where it must have appeared.
So... upgrade ;) lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
32
Likes
2
Country
United States
#10
Thanks for this I'll have to give this a try. Didn't realize I could connect via browser but I do have a question can I do this on the standard firmwrae?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
32
Likes
2
Country
United States
#13
So I pulled the SD card from the unit today and viewed it on a PC using the blackview 2.22 sofware and confirmed I am using 2.001-550GW-E Frimware. I looked at the GPS (mapview) and it has me in the right location but the time/date is off. I have the timezone set to America/los angeles-pacific which is where I am located. In the config.ini the Timezone is set to 126. But the time is still incorrect.

Is 126 the correct value in the config?

Any Thoughts?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
96
Likes
17
Country
Australia
#14
How do we find out what number is for what time zone?
I'm in Sydney AustraliaAustralia
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
32
Likes
2
Country
United States
#15
So I pulled the SD card from the unit today and viewed it on a PC using the blackview 2.22 sofware and confirmed I am using 2.001-550GW-E Frimware. I looked at the GPS (mapview) and it has me in the right location but the time/date is off. I have the timezone set to America/los angeles-pacific which is where I am located. In the config.ini the Timezone is set to 126. But the time is still incorrect.

Is 126 the correct value in the config?

Any Thoughts?
Update. Firmware 2.002 seems to have fixed the date issue for me!!!!
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
32
Likes
2
Country
United States
#18
Is it easy to open the case to change the battery? I'll have to Google that to see if it is something I can do.
 

Similar threads

Top