DR650S-2CH IR Omnitracs Can I used a just Dash Cam?

soso11

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Location
Lowell Ma.
Country
United States
Hello everyone, I new to this site, and to Dashcams all together..
Thanks for have me.
I have been given a DR650S-2CH IR Omnitracs, I don't want to use it as it is.. I want to used it as blackvue dr650s. front, and rear, in my car
Can I even use the Blackvue App, with it setup as Omnitracs. Or does Omnitracs have it's own app??
When I look for the dashcam on wifi, it shows up as Omnitracs.
Can I just update the firmware to Blackvue?
Please any help, i would be greatfull.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,323
Reaction score
28,452
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
if Blackvue have done a rebranded version then it's unlikely you can just load the Blackvue firmware, not sure you'd gain anything by doing so anyway as it's an older unsupported model
 
OP
S

soso11

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Location
Lowell Ma.
Country
United States
Thanks my friend..
I also noticed theres is no cloud code, on these omnitracs blackvue.. Anyway i can connect to wifi in blackvue app.. thats all i needed, I also opened the rear camera and removed the ir leds, because at night they glared into the window, and theres no way to turn them off, i got these cams for free, so dont give a sh.t.
If I paid for the cams, i wouldn't have taken apart..
 

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
841
Reaction score
411
Location
Vancouver, BC
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
Try the default password, blackvue, for the smartphone app.

Regarding Cloud, try contacting BlackVue directly at cs@pittasoft.com
 
OP
S

soso11

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Location
Lowell Ma.
Country
United States
Update
This Omnitracs blackvue, is messed up, All my videos have wrong date and time, also the frimware installed says DR650gw 1.128 something?? I don't understand because it a DR650S 2CH it says that right on the camera itself?? GPS dosen't work as well..
Omnitracs jacked this thing up, when I try to install the right model frimware I get a model error,
anyone know if there a way to take off whatever omnitracs frimware is installed off ? or can I edit the frimware files on the sd card? im at a lost here..
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,120
Reaction score
6,308
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
All I can suggest is that you contact Omnitracs and ask them for every version of firmware they have for this and any very similar cam. Maybe one of them will work.

Playing with firmwares is risky and can easily lead to an unusable cam through errors or complete bricking
. Better to leave things alone and sell the cam while it's still usable then apply the funds to the purchase of a more suitable cam. Almost all of us who have been in this game for a long time will have experienced similar if we go to this level, and based on whose chipset it is there may not even be a possible solution available at all.

Phil
 
Top